We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not run well” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Oakland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Oakland Airport
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Oakland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not run well”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

The first room, a non smoking room , smelled like smoke. The 2nd rooms fire alarm started chirping .Then the next morning , some person ran his disel engine at 7:30 am & speaking very loud , house keeping came at 10:30.am, when I asked for a later checkout. Too many things go on here, it's not run well.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afinetimetowine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    22
    18
    27
See reviews for
20
16
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tigard
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Do not stay at this hotel. THE CLEANING STAFF WILL STEAL YOUR ITEMS AND LIE ABOUT IT. I left a jacket in the room and the cleaning staff claims they never saw it. Filed a compliant with the front office which went of deaf ears. Then, you CAN'T HAVE VISITORS AFTER 10PM...I though this was a hotel. Didn't know this was MY MOTHER'S HOUSE.....DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. CURFEW AND STEALING.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Hello, Me and my husband were here in November 2013. Unfortunately, it took us 2 visits to really feel the feeling of not returning. We are from Alaska. This hotel gives the popular Motel 6 a "bad reputation. I think I will go elsewhere. We've been to other Motel 6s before that were decent and clean like they did care about their customers. The rooms in Oakland area, reeked" of people partying in it all day or day before per say, the office personnel were not professional, supervisor look like she just wokeup from partying all night and trying to hold up' her posture and even the dress attires were not professionally casual. I would never recommend this specific hotel to anyone." Recruit new employees...from a professionals point of view.""

Room Tip: Attn Motel 6 Owners; Specific hotels like this needs more "welcoming and caring" services...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimaShaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days, had trouble getting on Internet so I called the desk and was told they were busy and would call me back. They never did. Next day we returned to find that the maid had made our beds, after we got ready for bed, my wife showed me the toilet paper in the bathroom. The maid had nicely folded the paper in a nice point but the problem was that there were only 6 squares of paper left on the roll. I called the desk and was told that housekeeping had gone for the day but they had toilet paper at the desk and I should come down and get it. I told the girl that we were in our pajamas and would she send some toilet paper up to us. She said she would but, surprise, it never came.
The room we were in had recently been remodeled but the toilet and tub water ran constantly, I reported this but nothing was ever done. I fixed the toilet myself so we could get some sleep.

DONE WASTE YOUR TIME BY GOING TO THIS HOTEL.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear George B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The cleanliness, maintenance and guest service conditions you encountered are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6, and we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Absolutely disgusting! Spent one night their on 8/11/13 and the room we got was terrible. It was a non-smoking room but reeked of smoke, there were burns in the restroom and on bedding from cigarettes. There were people coming and going at all hours of the night and the beds themselves were badly stained. First and last time I stay at a Motel 6, don't let others full you into thinking they're tolerable. Next time I'll spend the extra cash and stay at a better place, I would not recommended Motel 6, especially this one, to anyone. There is a reason so many people rate them so low.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Tony G - Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We sincerely apologize for room conditions, disturbances and odor issues that led to your unpleasant stay. Please know that the issues you experienced are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. Please contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
139 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been there many times because Alameda is a good location (easy to reach both from the Airport and from San Francisco downtown) if you want to skip the downtown (and find a cheaper hotel).
The rooms look a bit dated but are clean, the facilities are poor but I like the location. The breakfast is very basic (there is a Starbuck quite close...) and the internet is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renzo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We like the customer service at the motel and the room was clean but smelled and have to pay for the Internet that didn't work half the time made it hard to work.
Yes! The room look dated and need to be update ie new beds ,beding .
Like that is was close to the sport area O,co and airport .oh in-n-out burger too.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roldanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
2.0 mi away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#14 of 50 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#29 of 50 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Oakland Airport

Property: Motel 6 Oakland Airport
Address: 8480 Edes Avenue, Oakland, CA 94621
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Oakland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Oakland Airport is located 3 miles from Oakland Intl Airport and walking distance to area dining. Visit the Port of Oakland Marinas, within 6 miles. Relax in our modern rooms and outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Motel-6, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Motel Six
Oakland Motel 6
Motel Six Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing