We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed our low expectations....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oakland Airport

Hotel Oakland Airport
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Oakland Airport
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
A TripAdvisor Member
“Surpassed our low expectations....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2005

Not a bad place to stay IF you're looking to be within walking distance from the Colisseum.... and have reasonably low expectations. We had read all the horrible reviews on TripAdvisor, and were prepared for the worst.... and in truth, it wasn't that bad. It was clean, well lit, friendly but understaffed..... even a weak wifi internet signal for an additional $10 a day, but would it have killed them to provide a little CNN or HBO?

We got it on Priceline for $45 a night, and our experience was certainly worth $45 per night.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    6
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2005

1.5 hours to check in, the one totally apathetic desk guy said the computers had been down for a week!

No cable TV in the entire hotel, I got various answers to this one, but the staff both didnt care about the issue, and didnt know why. But it was clear it wasnt broken, there just isnt any!

No Internet access unless I wanted to pay more for the room ABOVE the internet connection fees! I was told wireless was spotty unless I was in a "premium room".

No COKE in the hotel bar for [--]. No way to bill charges to your room either.

No one working in this hotel cares, or even knows whats going on.

This is not a Clarion hotel by the way, it just changed hands.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2005

If your just looking for a place to crash before an early flight this hotel is fine. It's nothing great, but it's not bad either. The area isn't the best, but there is a Starbucks on the way to the airport if you want breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedylarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

I stayed at the Oakland Airport prior to a early flight in June. First of all, I remembered this place as a tired old Holiday Inn to be avoided. But I thought that since it changed over to a Clarion that it would have been renovated and be better. I was wrong. It is a motel with a 'tower'. I had to walk 1/2 mile to the ice machine only to find that is was broken, then wait 20 minuites at the front desk to get me some ice. Besides that, the place was run-down and not very clean.

I frequently stay and fly out of Oakland and am always dissapointed with the park-n-fly options compared to SFO. I've stayed at them all, and they are either unjustifibly expensive or dumps. Clarion Oakland is in the latter class. Though, if travelling out of SFO, the Clarion there is by far the best choice. Definately a nice place at a decent price.

I am still searching for the best place to park-n-fly in Oakland and will post it as soon as I fing it.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sgsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2005

This property is not a 3 star property. Poor level of maintenance and service turned us off, we would not repeat a stay at this property, there are better choices in the area and closer to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spyrogyra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2004

Paid $50 which included free shuttle to airport.
For that price, it was well worth the price. I was not happy with the room--ground floor, door opened 5 ft from parked cars--so I was switched to a more remote location. Used the coin laundry-convenient mid-trip amenity. Restaurant was fine for a burger though not "fast." Staff was helpful .
Room was fairly clean and bed was comfortable. The toilet was not flushed and had unpleasant stuff in it; insufficient towels for anyone but staff brought more quickly. Sections of hotel felt isolated and possibly dangerous. I did not feel happy wandering around it at night--looking for laundry room. Its a bargain for a one night quick stop before the flight from Oakland but thats about it.

Helpful?
3 Thank obsessiveplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2004

A good night's sleep? Not Here !! The hotel has been updated a bit (you cannot tell by looking at the outside). The main problem for me was the older hotels/motels (such as this one) have the air conditioning units inside the room - this mean all night you hear the motor running (almost the equivalent to the sound of an engine running in the room all night) It tends to be warm in Oakland so there is no choice but to leave it on. The Ramada Limited next door looked much more updated with central air. The toilet paper is the thinnest I have seen and there were some runs in the blankets - not too attractive.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
0.0 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Courtyard Oakland Airport
#12 of 49 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oakland Airport

Property: Hotel Oakland Airport
Address: 500 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621-1320
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel & 6-story addition (1986) near Nimitz Freeway in east Bay Area, 2 miles from Oakland Int'l Airport (free transfer). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing