We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and getting better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Executive Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tacoma WA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Very good and getting better”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We've stayed at this hotel by the water for a number of years. It seems to be getting better. Good quality, terrific value for its location and amenities. Lovely setting. Comes with breakfast and free newspaper with in-room coffee. Solid mattress. Large comfortable lobby. Really - you can't beat this place. Oh! And airport pick up, no less!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    247
    73
    35
    30
See reviews for
220
194
75
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Stayed one night, lovely room with balcony overlooking water and distant view of San Francisco skyline. Pleasant staff. 15 minutes to airport by car. very close to interstate but waterfront rooms are quiet. varied breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed for 3 nights in a King Water Front Suite. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The place was beautiful and clean. The breakfast was outstanding. The fancy coffee machine was great and better than Starbucks. I can't say enough about the convenience of their shuttle. It takes you all over or to other transportation access. We had no need to rent a car. We took the shuttle to the Ferry to San Francisco and took the shuttle to BART to go to the Raider-Charger game. We even got a tour of Lake Merritt and downtown Oakland with the Director of Sales while he was driving us in the shuttle. They picked us up from Amtrak at 10 PM the night we arrived before we had even checked in and took us back to Amtrak after we checked out. The Waterfront was quite and relaxing while we weren't out running around. There was only one restaurant within walking distance, but with the shuttle that didn't matter. The staff was all very friendly and helpful and were very knowledgable about the BART and Ferry schedule, etc. We were very pleased and have put this hotel in our list of contacts in case we need to stay in Oakland again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdjingc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Booked online at the hotel's website for the cheapest room I could find for a one night pre-flight stay (leaving OAK airport). The $98 AAA rate was for a Queen room with a City (aka 880 Fwy) view. The photos on the web are much nicer than what I received ... a roomy, but tired 80's styled room with a small old fashioned TV, Motel 6 quality furniture, and a noisy view overlooking the 880 Freeway. The newer Suites wing is probably worth paying for if staying more than 24 hours.

The fitness rooms in both the old and the new wings each had 3 aerobic machines, no weight machines or free weights and seemed like an afterthought, even in the newer wing. The free breakfast was decent and offered a bit more than the traditional Continental Breakfast fare with make-your-own Belgian waffles, pre-made pancakes, sausages, fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries and coffee selections.

Staff at check in was very friendly and welcoming. Staff person at check out acted bored and didn't bother asking how my stay went. There are other newer motor hotels along the 880 Freeway and near the OAK airport. I suppose this place would be fine if one paid a lot more for one of the newer suites or an upgraded and renovated room. Otherwise, I am perplexed this ranked No.1 for Oakland hotels. This place is not walking distance to anything of interest to bay area visitors, so one will need a car.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasminedogLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, WY
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2010

The neighborhood was industrial but a convenient location for our stay. The hotel was well landscaped, on the water, and very clean & nice. The bartendress and shuttle drivers were very helpful. The hotel was very clean, nice pool, good service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ace069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Initalially, we were given a regular room and we had a view of the freeway (don't ask for city view). It was loud and the room was small and uncomfortable. We asked for another room (since we had intially requested water view) and they upgraded us to a suite with a view of the bay. I give them four stars because the regular room sucked but the upgraded suite was great. They gave us no hassle for upgrading the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beyonce78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden Lake, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Very pleasant location, excellent breakfast and helpful staff. Add that to easy access to downtown San Francisco and you definately have a winner.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raggazza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
1.9 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#9 of 49 in Oakland
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn & Suites

Property: Executive Inn & Suites
Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oakland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#5 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing