We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent every time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Executive Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Executive Inn and Suites
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

We have stayed at this property seveal times because our daughter attended law school in San Francisco. We stay in the all suites section where the rooms are bigger and face the water (my guess is rooms in the other building on the highway side could be quite noisy as it is just off the freeway).

The rooms are nicely-sized with a micro, mini-fridge and coffee-maker, and they provide a very nice breakfast in the room rate. There is a small workout facility and a business center for printing boarding passes.

It is close to Jack London Square and not far from the airport; it's also not TOO bad a drive into the city, making it a very affordable, but quite nice alternative to hotels in San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mginabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    223
    66
    35
    27
See reviews for
197
181
70
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Having stayed at many hotels the accomodations are all the same. As a frequent traveler you can expect the usual services like continental breakfast, vending and shuttle service. Problems always arise when traveling and the experience comes down to the staff who handles them. What makes Oakland Executive Inn exceptional is the staff. The place has a high retention rate so you can expect to see the same smiling faces. When problems do arise you can expect friendly and proactive responses. Thank you Kelly, Roberto, Martha, Nina and everyone else for making each stay easier for the tired traveler the last few years!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CityLifeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

From the beautiful flowers and estuary views to the friendly, efficient and courteous staff the Executive Inn is an oasis in the Oakland/Alameda area, and at the same time a good value.

Today for example One staff Member "Mardy" went from her task at the front desk seamlessly to shuttle driver and never missed a beat with her helpful upbeat and professional attitude and smile which combined - translated a local business trip into an enjoyable and speedy endeavor.

This is why I have returned to this property on business trips to Oakland for over 10 years.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

I stayed three nights with Executive Inn and Suites and enjoyed the stay immensely. I was advised to stay waterside and was glad I did as I had a lovely view. The staff and everyone we encountered, especially Mardy, was friendly and outgoing. They always tried to be accommodating, whether it was picking us up after a night out, or advising us on how to get to San Francisco and back. My room was clean and comfortable. The first night I was awakened late by someone stomping around above me. When I mentioned it to the staff the next day they quickly moved me. The hotel shuttle is a fantastic perk, saving you from cabfare (though a tip is appreciated) and allowing you to set up times to leave the hotel as well as be picked up. I traveled with 6 colleagues and all of us would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

The Inn is ideally loated and Mardy at the front desk is always warm and welcoming! I only wish there were more locations such as this one! I love that they have expanded the wine and cheese nights!! Thank you Executive Inn and Suites! See you next visit

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msdalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

I have been a frequent guest over the past four years and have grown to know the wonderful staff, especially Mardy and AJ who always greet me with a warm, friendly welcome and utmost professionalism. I frequently visit Oakland for business. I have tried other Hotels in town for comparison reasons and have decided never to stay elsewhere but this Inn. The basic rooms are a bit dated (old tvs and furniture) but they make up for it with cleanliness;beds are comfy, linens and towels fresh, quality soap,coffee maker with Peerless Coffee and green tea bags. The Suites are very nice and worth paying the extra to stay in if you want a more updated room.The waterside views are beautiful and the outdoor pool overlooks the water! Awesome place to relax. Plus they offer breakfast in the morning and wine in the late afternoons. The price is more than reasonable especially booking direct on their website.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreaniu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
302 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

I chose this hotel from reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. From the moment we checked in, we were impressed. The staff was excellent, including Miguel and Mardy, who made sure we were pleased with our stay. The room was large and looked out onto the water. The bed was super comfortable. They have a business center with computers which was important because we forgot our laptop and had to check messages from clients. The breakfast was unbelievable--everything you could imagine, and changed daily. From now on, this is the only place we will stay in the east bay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
2.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.0 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#8 of 50 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn and Suites

Property: Executive Inn and Suites
Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oakland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#5 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Executive Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing