We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unsafe neighborhood” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Executive Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Executive Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unsafe neighborhood”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Disappointed from start to finish. Paint peeling on hotel sign, shabby furniture, mattress and sheets very old and worn, no comforter or extra blanket. View from back of hotel ok looking out over water, but the hotel is next to the elevated interstate with abandoned buildings covered with graffiti all around it. Wouldn't have been too bad if it was priced as a bargain, but it cost as much as the nearby hotels on the waterfront at Jack London Square with shops, flowers, bike rentals.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MBH611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSalesManager, Manager at Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I am so sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with us. We try to continuously update our hotel to meet our guests expectations. I do admit, parts of the hotel is old since it was built in the early 90s. However, we are doing a complete renovation of the property this winter. I would be more than happy to welcome you back after the renovation.

As for the comforter/blanket, there should be an extra comforter in each room. If anyone would like another one, they can call down to front desk and our housekeepers will be happy to deliver another one to the room.

We always try to price our rooms to give the best possible value for your money. We offer more amenities than most of our competitors, and still are able to keep down our price. Due to high occupancy, our rates do go up in the summer months. However, our prices are always set with the guest as our number one priority.

I apologize if you felt that the price was too high for the value that you were given. If that is the case, than we have failed in providing you with all of what the hotel has to offer. I hope you will give us a second chance next year once the hotel has been newly remodeled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    237
    68
    35
    28
See reviews for
207
189
74
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

First found them on Hotels.com and have been back a second time since. Service is great - when checking in, the staff have been very responsive and have upgraded my room each time!! Comfortable, clean and quiet, and while not extravagant, the waterview room was a wonderful surprise. Very convenient to Jack London Square. Superb value all around!

Room Tip: The waterview rooms, second floor with balcony are really nice...overlooking a tree lined walking pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

In town for two days. We Usually stay with the children but this week was a problem. The inn was 11 minutes from them. Room really comfortable with king bed and microwave and refrigerator. We could control the temperature closely. We slept like logs. Bathtub and shower perfect and tiled floor good for drying off.
Continental breakfast has many choices and plenty of it. Like the big tv in the lobby and the. Tv in the room. The view from. Our room was of water which is pretty. The land side is an ugly view of the BART line.
Minor imperfections -- need alarm clocks, some tv channels are missing. If the kids have a full house again we will head right here

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

VALUE: Its more money than other hotels offered at Priceline but its .worth it! Beautiful view!!!
AMENITIES: Very good amenities. Hot breakfast included. Very comfortable bed - its like the bed I have back home. Room includes microwave and ref too.
SHUTTLE SERVICE: Very good service. Her name is Doris and she's not only a perfect driver, she is also a perfect host/concierge/tour guide-- definitely an asset to Executive Inn & Suites.
STAFF: Perfect A++ in service-- cheerful, pleasant, accommodating even at the wee hours of the morning-- I'd definitely book this place again even if its not on priceline. Executive Inn is perfect but its the staff who's the "icing in the cake". Highly recommended

Room Tip: Water view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myrielf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our first experience at the Executive Inn. Accomodations were great, the bed was comfortable, lovely waterview room. Great amenities free breakfast and shuttle to oakland attractions. I'll be back again with my husband. Wonderful staff (Miguel and his team). The van took us to jack london and bart station. Drivers are friendly and will pick you up on time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melisa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

For the money, this hotel was fine, but the main caveat is that its' location is dodgy and not really accessible to much without a car. There is a shuttle to the BART, but it can be a wait sometimes (which is fine at the hotel, but when you are standing next to the BART station in a neighborhood with lots of syringes on the ground, it's not so great). The breakfast was a nice touch (hot and fresh) and the rooms overlooking the water were pretty (comfortable beds and clean), but none of this changes the fact that you don't feel particularly safe once you leave the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecotait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSalesManager, Manager at Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I am glad you had a great stay with us, but I am also sorry you felt unsafe in the surrounding areas, and that the location was dodgy.

We are located, right off of the freeway, and you are right, we don't have many restaurants or shops close to the hotel. That might be a reason why it feels more secluded and unsafe than it is. We certainly do not want you to feel unsafe, and I wish I could add some restaurants and shops right next to the hotel. However, we do make up for the lose in nearby venues, with our shuttle, and I am glad you were able to take advantage of it.

If there is anything I can do to make your next stay with us better, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at daniel.grimborn@executiveinnoakland.com. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORENO VALLEY
Level Contributor
561 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Too expensive for a water view room I did not get. Even though my room was on the top floor facing the water, it was mostly blocked by several huge, very mature trees. Not sure why I was given this room based on the fact that the hotel was less than half full and I was told very few rooms on the water side of the top floor were occupied. Turned out I needed to extend my stay for a few days but I did not want to pay this price to look at trees. I checked out and checked into a Comfort Inn that had just as nice a room, no view, less than half the price. Very disappointed as I have stayed here over the years and always enjoyed it, but I certainly wasn't treated like a valuable customer this time.

Room Tip: Be sure you do not get a 'waterview' room on the left side, behind the trees. Specifically a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSalesManager, Manager at Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am so sorry to hear about your blocked view on the 3rd floor. We do have a couple of eucalyptus trees on the far left side of the property. We regularly trim them to make sure all of our water view rooms will have a pleasant view of the bay. I will look into the tree trimming schedule and see if we need to trim the trees more often.

As a loyal and returning guest of our hotel, I truly apologize if you were not treated like a valuable customer. Our guests are the most important part of our hotel and we should always strive to meet and exceed your expectations.

I hope you will give us a second chance, to prove to you why we keep receiving the highest reviews for our customer service. Please don't hesitate to contact me personally with any questions or concerns. You can reach me at daniel.grimborn@executiveinnoakland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
2.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.0 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn & Suites

Property: Executive Inn & Suites
Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oakland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#5 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Executive Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing