We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Spot on the Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Executive Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Executive Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spot on the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

What a wonderful stay. Hotel is spotless and well maintained but what made it great was the people, Frederick, Doris, and Howie make you feel as if you are home. I definately recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. Absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    237
    68
    35
    28
See reviews for
207
189
74
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've never written a review for any hotel on this site or another but feel it may be helpful to share my experience. I rated this hotel Excellent because it has exceeded our expectations for a hotel in this location/price range on nearly every front.

My partner and I have been "between" homes for almost 3 weeks while we wait for renovations to be completed on our new house in Oakland. We found Executive Inn online and thought it was a great option for us because of the easy access to our new home, Jack London Square, downtown and freeway. We have been pleased during our entire stay here with the friendly, courteous and helpful staff that run this hotel - from top to bottom - without exception.

A couple of notable mentions here: our primary housekeeper, Ana, has been WONDERFUL. She is kind, thoughtful, courteous, hardworking and efficient. The head of house keeping, Lourdes, has also been super! She helped us resolve a few issues and every time responded to our requests promptly and with a smile.

One of the managers, Jay, addressed our concerns about noisy neighbors with the level of professionalism that I would have expected from a larger, more expensive hotel.

We have a fairly large King-suite in the "Executive" building that is comfortable and has a lovely view of the water. Despite the fact that the hotel is located next to a major interstate we find it to be quiet and pleasant with a tranquil water view (not sure if you had a room facing the other direction). I also understand the main part of the hotel has not updated all of the room furnishings/decor.

There is a great path along the water and although there aren't a lot of walkable restaurants, etc. the hotel will apparently provide shuttle service if requested.

In conclusion, dollar for dollar this hotel provides a great value for any travelers (business, couples, families, etc.). It's a little off the beaten path but a great place to stay.

Room Tip: be sure to get a room facing the water - if optional, stay in the new "executive" building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oaklandtravel94610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've stayed at the Executive Inn several times and will continue to stay there. I'm more of a bang for buck traveler so I'll stay where the best room for the best price is even if it's a bit of a way from my destination, this hotel fits me perfectly. I usually stay at the Hilton to take advantage of the Hilton Honors program but the Bay Area tends to be very expensive (especially SF) and as usual with expensive hotels, their rooms are usually quite small, Before I stay here, I always look around and see if any other hotel can match this hotel regarding price, room size, view and my must have.....a balcony, haven't found one yet. There is a Hilton property down the street from this hotel but I won't stay there, this place is much nicer, rooms are bigger and cost much less.

The rooms at he Executive Inn are nice, clean, modern and large. I'm never been in the main building because all of the new suites are in their newer, all suite building. The hotel is right on the water, all of the rooms face the water and have a balcony or patio with a view. I stayed in an executive suite. Really modern room with an open floor plan, something to be aware of if you plan on sharing the room with two couples. If not, it's perfect.

There is a sofa, not sure if it's a sofa bed or not and large chair with an ottoman. There's a work desk with a nice touch......open the top drawer and you'll find office supplies....pens, stapler, post it notes, paper clips, etc. The bathroom is nice with a separate glass enclosed shower, large tub and dual vanity, the toilet is in it's own little room with a phone.

The hotel is right down the street from Jack London square and Downtown Oakland, plenty of stuff to do in the area and you are just a 10 minute drive to SF if traffic is good. The lobby is great! There are multiple couches, chairs and tables if you want to have a meeting or just kick back with a bunch of people and watch the big screen TV. The lobby also has a huge patio area facing the water. They have a breakfast buffet every morning and they keep coffee and free snacks available 24/7.

Great hotel on the water for a decent price!

Room Tip: Stay in the newer wing of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. It's a great location, the room was great, spacious and all that we expected. Loved having the little frig & microwave. The view was great and a wonderful balcony. However if you don't like a hard bed, this is not the place. I felt like daggers were in my back all night. You could feel this comfortable on a board. We didn't sleep well at all. The next morning we asked the front desk if they have an egg crate, or a foam piece for the bed and she had a blank look like she didn't know what we were talking about. So that night I made a pallet on the comfy love seat and slept there with my feet hanging over the edge. Luckily I'm short. My husband suffered on the bed. We will probably stay there next time but I will bring a blow up mattress and put on the bed for comfort. Other than that, we did enjoy this hotel. It's also close to our son.

Room Tip: Be sure to stay in the suites building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were quite disappointed that this was a number one rated hotel in Oakland. The rest must be terrible. I had 3 issues. 1) "Free WiFi" was ONLY if you were near the lobby. They outside rooms had no access to internet, whatesever. 2) When someone in the room next to you flushed their toilet, your water in the shower turned cold. 3) The breakfast was always lacking someone refilling the empty food, so we rarely had an actual continental breakfast.

If you don't mind food, wifi or warm water, it's a decent place to stay!

Room Tip: Get a room near Lobby if you want the "free wifi."
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skagirlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I appreciate your feedback, but I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.
We have recently installed five new routers around the hotel in order to improve internet reception throughout the property. All the rooms and the entire hotel should therefore have access to the WiFi, but I will definately double check this again.
The cold water problem is something that I have not had any complaints about, but I am really glad you brought this to my attention. I will discuss this with our maintenance crew and make sure no other guests run into the same problem.
Lacking food for breakfast is unacceptable and I truly apologize about this. We offer a large breakfast with a combination of hot and cold items, and we usually get very good reviews about it. I will bring this up in our next staff meeting to ensure a great breakfast experience for all of our guests.

Thank you for all your feedback, and I hope you will give us a second chance to prove to you why we are the number 1 hotel in Oakland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Main aspect of choosing hotel in Oakland has to be either that you'll fly to OAK or/and you don't want to pay for San Francisco downtown prices. In hindsight we could have saved some transport time by choosing public transport instead of rental car as traffic to SF is heavily congested, especially during morning rush hour (only one toll bridge entrance from OAK). Allow 1-2 hrs driving time + parking spot finding time and $. On the other hand it's more convenient to drive to and from airport with luggage. They have frequent shuttle service from hotel. Bare in mind that there's very little restaurants in Oakland downtown so this location is most suitable for just sleeping, not that much for going out to town at evening.


Hotel itself is fine, rooms are large with necessary gear. Bay view rooms are worth paying 10-20$ more. Breakfast was OK like wifi as well. No complaints about anything in general. Night shift receptionist looked a bit tired for her work but necessary matters were handled accordingly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for coming all the way from Finland and staying at our hotel. I really appreciate your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
You're right, morning traffic to SF is not something you want to get stuck in. However, during the days the traffic to the city is not that bad and you can get to downtown SF in 20-25 min. We always recommend going by BART or Ferry since it will always get you there faster.

We do not have many restaurants next door to the hotel, but our shuttle runs to Jack London square (about 1-2 miles away) where they have a wide selection of restaurants.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NJ
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Executive Inn and Suites gets good, strong grades on all the important elements: very clean rooms, comfortable beds, updated vanity with a great magnifying mirror, and a very helpful staff who provides shuttle service to the BART. I paid extra for a water view and was pleased with the upgrade. Feel comfortable booking one of their spacious rooms, especially if you are with your family.

The name of the hotel is unfortunate since the term "executive" is not what you think of when you look around this hotel. It's much more suited to families and the more casual business traveler. It's not a suit-and-tie environment. You'll finds friends chatting in the lobby instead of individuals clicking on iPads or laptops. In fact, the hotel makes an effort to bring folksy touches to the place with plaid bedspreads and large wooden numerals to mark your room. It's not owned by a chain and it doesn't feel like it.

The breakfast is bountiful, true, and you'll lift the lids on chafing dishes with heaps of eggs and sausages. You can make your own waffles (very popular). It's the kind of buffet with big thermal jugs of strong coffee and a giant CoffeMate bottle next to little, flavored creamer pods. (Coffee and tea are available all day.) Style-wise, this is a breakfast stocked with "fun" breakfast items designed to please the casual traveler more than for frequent business travelers looking for whole grains and fat-free lattes. However, there is also fresh fruit (bananas and pears) and little cartons of lower fat milk if you want to select healthier fare.

The pool is truly heated, as promised, and located near the water in a lovely setting. Again, this is more a family pool and not a lap pool. It was surprisingly empty during our visit and my daughter and I were the only people I saw in the pool area during our two-night stay.

Bottom line: if you are going for a family vacation or attending a conference, you'll be fine. If you are an executive, however, you might want a hotel that caters more specifically to the needs of the frequent business traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room. It's a lovely view. The other side of the hotel faces the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb7111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
2.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.0 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn & Suites

Property: Executive Inn & Suites
Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oakland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#5 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Executive Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing