We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Stay at Executive Inn and Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Executive Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Our Stay at Executive Inn and Suites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our stay at Executive inn and suits consisted of 10 days and our entire stay was enjoyable. From breakfast, to wifi to laundry service all were very convenient and always accessible. Rooms are clean and huge with all the essentials that you need away from home. The waterfront rooms made our stay even more stress free and comfortable. The General Manager Mark and Revenue Manager Ricky were extremely helpful with special requests and their help made our stay hassle free. Looking forward to staying at Executive Inn and Suites in the future and will definitely recommend to other people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    240
    72
    35
    28
See reviews for
211
191
74
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Clean, decent rooms. A little noisy cause of the connected rooms concept. But best selling point... affordable for a 20 min train ride to the city. Do note, don't try & drive down to SFO... Just a waste of time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ikazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I'm sorry to hear about a noisy room. We only have 6 connected rooms in the hotel, and they should be insulated enough with double doors in order to keep the neighbors noise out. Thank you for bringing it up, and I will look into those rooms.
Driving to SF definately takes longer than taking the train or the ferry, especially during rush hour. We shuttle to both the ferry and the train station, and I hope you were able to use it for transport to and from the station.
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Accommodations clean, roomy; a good breakfast included in rate. Free wireless, newspapers, use of computer and printer. Extremely pleasant and helpful employees at all levels.

One suggestion. The location of the light switch outside of the toilet room but not next to the side of the door where it opens is very annoying. Solution: Perhaps add a switch in the door or a motion sensor to turn the light on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you Harry for staying with us and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
We train our staff on a regular basis to make sure our guests receive the best possible customer service, and I am glad it shows.

I will definately look into the location of the light switch and see if we can add another switch.
Thank you for the suggestion and I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed this week for our reunion. It was great to see all my friends from 50 years ago. We have moved all over the world, and 50 years later we meet again. We stayed at this hotel as we were told to come here. The hotel was great and we had a shuttle to Mills daily which was wonderful.

I spoke to frederick over the phone a few times and he helped to make sure everything was taken care of. He was real nice on the phone and when I came in he remembered who I was. Little did I know he wasn't sure the reservationist, but an actual supervisor. The other staff were great and I wish I could list them, but I have this one business card.

If i were to ever travel back to the Bay Area, I would definitely stay here just because the service is great. Only thing I would as to be changed is more computers to be used.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeport, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We picked this hotel because tripadvisor rated it #1 in Oakland. Love the fact that it is right on the waters edge. There is a nicely paved walking trail along the water also. My husband was excited because Harborside is only a 3 minute walk. The hotel gave us a room on the top floor, facing the bay. We stayed in the suites and the room was spacious, updated and the remote was even sanitized. They do have a small breakfast in the mornings downstairs, but I hear if you go to the main Hotel, the food is much better. The hotel offers a shuttle to several locations within a short distance. You do have to call the front desk to reserve a time for shuttle and remember to program the phone number of the hotel in your cell to call for pick up when you are all done sight seeing. We took the short ride to Jack London Square...I was a little disappointed...not much there. We did have a fantastic lunch at Scott's. Great service and outdoor seating by the bay with heaters if needed on a chilly day. If I was looking for a relaxing place to spend a night or two, I would definetly stay here again. The pool is outdoors and heated and the jaccuzi is bigger than most, and they are beside the bay...it's a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: I think the newer and more updated rooms are in the suites building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaann808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We also stayed here when in town for the "Steeler" football game. Staff was very helpful in allowing us to leave luggage for the day so we had room in the trunk to tailgate. Rooms are large, nothing special. Beds okay, pillows not so great. Good shower, room seemed clean. I'm not a fan of the air freshener they use, but windows open so you can air out if you wish. Breakfast typical of the chains that offer waffles and sweet rolls, although make sure to go to the main lobby, they apparently have more choices. Nice that there are outdoor tables by the water and a walking path steps from the hotel. Very easy access to the freeway.

Room Tip: You definitely want a waterview room, others face the freeway and constant noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here while visiting Oakland for a Raiders game on 9/23/12. I had booked in advance for a water-view king suite, which was very nice. The suite was clean, but had some kind of stink, honestly, like B.O. We were confounded because for the life of us, we couldn't pinpoint where it was coming from. Other than than, there were no problems to speak of. It was nice being right on the water and the suite appeared to be fairly new and decorated with modern furnishings. The breakfast, well, not especially great, but good enough to grab something before heading out. Maybe I'd stay here again but it wouldn't be my first choice. The last time we came for a football game we stayed in Walnut Creek at a different hotel chain and it was cheaper, nicer, and offered many more amenities.

Room Tip: Get a water-view suite, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NVSteelergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit to the Bay Area. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and liked our large king suite room.

It is very upsetting to hear about the bad smell you were experiencing. We are very proud of our cleanliness and attention to detail, so I am truly sorry about experiencing a bad smell in the room. Please email me at mark.hochstatter@executiveinnoakland.com and let me know what room you stayed in, so I can make sure this does not happen to anyone else of our guests.

Our water view rooms are the most popular and 2/3 of our rooms are water view rooms.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our property again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
1.9 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#8 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn & Suites

Property: Executive Inn & Suites
Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oakland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#5 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing