We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Executive Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Executive Inn and Suites
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed with my daughter and grandson in a suite. The room was wonderful and felt luxurious. The water view is a must and a short walk down to Quinn's Lighthouse is a treat. The only recommendation would be to have wifi in the room. The breakfast buffet is a real treat. We will be back. Want to thank Mike for all he did for us! The staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: Definitely chose the water side, the city view faces the freeway and can only imagine much nosier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you Kate for returning to us during your visit to the Bay Area. I will definately let Mike know that you appreciated everything he did for you.
Thank you again for choosing our hotel, and I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    223
    66
    35
    27
See reviews for
197
181
70
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in the Suites building. Everything was top notch. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast served in the main building includes hot dishes, usually eggs of some kind, sometimes sausage, waffles, cereal, pastries, bagels, boiled eggs and a variety of special coffees, juices, milk and yogurt. Even the to-go breakfast in the suites bldg was nice. Great cappucino machine! It was too cold to use the pool but the location next to the water was beautiful and pretty quiet considering the highway on the other side of the building. The staff was very helpful. We used the free shuttle service and the free DSL service heavily. The shuttle dropped us off and picked us up from the ferry and the BART. Best of all we got all this for a great price--hundreds of dollars cheaper than anything in San Fran and we got to enjoy the ferry and the BART under the bay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jarucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. Cali
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was expecting more based on the reviews from Trip Advisor. We stayed with our kids in a 2-queen room with a water view. The view was nice and so are the grounds. They have a really nice lobby. We unfortunately did not get to experience the the buffet breakfast. My complaint would be the the regular rooms decor is outdated and the rooms were less than clean. I spotted several hairs throughout the bathroom, before we even used it. This is such a pet peeve of mine. There were many spots of mold on the ceiling in the shower area, not enough ventilation. Grout falling out of tile floor too. My husband stays at this place with his company 1-2 times per year and he is the one who recommended it. He usually stays in one of the suites though. I guess this is the only way to go, as I would never stay in a regular room here again. Would be willing to try a suite because we liked proximity to things we needed to do.

Room Tip: Choose a suite only and make sure it is on the water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoCali-momof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your review and for bringing to our attention some of your complaints with our property. We are continuously updating our grounds and properties and our main focus is our guest's experiences.
We take a lot of pride in our cleanliness both outside the hotel and inside. It is very disturbing to hear about your experience with one of our bathrooms and I am truly sorry about this. Would you mind telling us what room you stayed in, in order for something like this to not happen again. I can be reached at mark.hochstatter@executiveinnoakland.com.
Please accept my sincere apology for the unfulfilling experience. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Everybody at this hotel was out to give good service. The recommendations of Bhavin, Manager at the Front Desk for restaurants was freely given, Doris who drove the shuttle bus went out of her way to accommodate us. The location is very convenient to the BART with the shuttle running frequently. The rooms are clean and well appointed and SF is convenient to Oakland on the BART.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the water have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JannietheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The fact that there is no Wifi in the rooms is a show stopper. Go somewhere else where they have it. The breakfast was average, but it was continental which means no bacon or sausage or any meat for that matter. They had eggs, cereal, pastries, coffee and toast. The room was clean, the bed was hard and the entire room vibrated, I assume from the freeway nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjcruiser08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Executive Inn & Suites and for making it possible to improve our future guest experiences through your observations.
Unfortunately we do not have WiFi in all the rooms yet. However, all the rooms are equipped with an internet cord for your computer. We do have WiFi in both our lobbies, and we also have two business centers at our guests disposal.
Our breakfast varies from day to day as we try to keep a good selection each day. We offer link sausages three days a week, scrambled eggs three days a week, pancakes twice a week, and bacon, cheese omelettes, biscuits, and french toast once a week. On top of this we offer all of our cold items every day.
I'm so sorry that we failed in making your stay with us a memorable one for wonderful reasons, and I hope you will give us a second chance one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a solid hotel. Not luxury by any means. It seems to be much better if you have a room with a view of the water. We did not. But the front desk was extremely helpful and this is a great hotel if you are leaving out of Oakland Airport or going to an A's game. I would stay again. Very clean and adequate

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthonyj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our first visit to the the Executive Inn and Suites and it certainly won't be our last. I had booked a room with "city view", and when we checked in we were given a free upgrade to "water view", which I discovered meant a wonderful vista of the estuary, huge trees, kayaks, scullers, canoes and fantastic flotillas of Canadian Geese which were either swimming in lovely straight lines or up on the bank keeping the grass cut. Watching the lines of sixteen, eleven and six individuals parade across and up and down the estuary became a favorite occupation when we were in the room. The room, by the way, was very comfortable, and the free breakfast was excellent. We particularly liked the fresh fruit and the coffee which was provided. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was neat and clean.
There is a very nice trail that runs alongside the estuary and we enjoyed walking every day.

Room Tip: If you choose "city view" be aware that you are actually "viewing" a freeway and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseAida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you Rose for your wonderful review. We always try to upgrade our guests if we have rooms available. The wildlife in our estuary is spectacular and I am glad you enjoyed your stay on the waterfront.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
2.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.0 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#8 of 49 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn and Suites

Property: Executive Inn and Suites
Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oakland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#5 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cancelon, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Executive Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing