We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel ABANDONED ME at the airport---in the rain, in my wheechair!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“This hotel ABANDONED ME at the airport---in the rain, in my wheechair!”
Reviewed December 19, 2010

I made reservations at this hotel two weeks in advance, and specifically asked for a wheelchair accessible shuttle to and from the Oakland airport, and to and from the BART station. They assured me this would be no problem. When our party of three arrived, in the pouring rain, I called on the courtesy phone and again asked for the handicap equipped shuttle. The first shuttle driver "couldn't find us," and left. After 45 minutes waiting, I called again, and they sent another shuttle. When it showed up, the driver says "Oh, you need the handicapped shuttle? I'll have to go back and get it." After waiting another 45 minutes, I called them back and they said, "Oh the handicapped shuttle is broken! We have no way to pick you up." I asked them how they were going to get me to the hotel and the BART station and the very unfriendly desk clerk (who was apparently never going to call me and tell me any of this), put me on hold for a long time. We were wet and freezing by this time, and in danger of missing the concert we had flown in to see. Fortunately, a handicapped shuttle driver from the Hilton took pity on us and offered to take us to the Park Plaza. No way was I going to go there; we cancelled our reservation and got a room at the Hilton instead. It was $100 more than the PP, but it was a small price to pay for their helpfulness. I have no idea what the Park Plaza is like to stay at, but I would never book there again or recommend it to anyone, because they treated us so horribly. No return calls, no apolgies, no offer of a taxi, nothing. Disgraceful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheelchairtravelerx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    121
    77
    56
    55
See reviews for
104
89
32
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2010

This place is a dump! I travel all over the country and the lobby all though nice...is not like the dark and dirty out dated rooms. And my floor..smelled like POT. The person MARY at the desk was rude and saying that the room was not refundable. I had been up there for 10 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippit411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mporterPPH, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Unfortunately, we did have an occurrence of smoking the evening you checked in, and I assure it was handled swiftly and the occupants were escorted off the property. The room you booked was at a non-refundable discounted rate, which is why our front desk agent stated the room was non-refundable. Another room on a different floor was offered, but we fully respect the fact that you decided not to stay with us in light of the circumstances. We would appreciate another opportunity to resolve your concerns. The number provided in your voicemail has rang busy all morning. Please call my direct line, 510-969-3111, and I will be happy to assist you.

Best regards,

Michelle Porter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakland hotels

Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2010

When looking for an apartment for my son to stay during his 4 years medical school in Oakland, we came up with the idea for him to stay at the hotel. We believed that we made the right choice. At the hotel, my son does not have to worry about any one breaking into his room compared to renting the apartment. His friend got broke in twice in a month when he rented the apartment. All the services are at hand (room cleaning, free continental breakfast, free internet, free parking etc. ) The staff at Park Plaza is very friendly and helpful. The manager Lynh Huynh, Sales Coordinator Nary Veloza, front desk Nhi, driver, Mr. Ko and all others at the front desk are wonderful peoples. I would recommend this hotel to any one without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luongtran88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2010

A clean and pleasant Hotel for the price of a motel. Staff was polite, smiling and helpful.
Free parking, 20 minute from San Fran. Breakfast is very ordinary but free.If your looking for the Drake, than pay for the Drake!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvinmartien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Ok, so this area of town is terrible! They give themselves three stars when it should be more like one star. Michael at the front desk was nice. But, I could tell that he was stressed out and had a long day. I had a problem with the shuttle drive who got an attitude with me. He was very confrontational and rude. I felt like I was being scolded by my father! I complained to the manager. She was very kind and apologetic. She would not give me a refund. Saying that she hoped I would stay there again. Why would I stay there again, if you wont even give my money back to try it out. Dont stay here! The breakfast is mediocre at best. Cereal, pastries, toast and coffee are the complimentary breakfast. I got the run around on a refund even though I didnt stay my second night. Oh and the bed is hard and there is too much traffic. You can't even sleep at night. They charge you for internet....ghetto!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gottheblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Reading some of the reviews, I believe some people have an idiology that hotels are not businesses, and they are. With that in mind, there should be more realistic ideas on what to expect.

My experience was just wonderful, from the room to Brandy and Micheal at the front desk. The curteousness and professionalism that I experienced has prompted me to write a letter and to comment on hotel sites. I purchased my room through Hotwire.com and have left comments there as well as Yelp.com

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildflowernoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Upon our arrival to Park Plaza hotel the man behind the counter named Micheal first works to use were "sit down I will get to you when I can" Ouch! His tone of voice and the mannerism he talked to other guests was very rude and short. Upon our return to call for the shuttle he asked me if we had all our luggage and I told him no the last one was on its way out. He told me when I got all the luggage call back and hung up. I called back in approx 2 minutes and he said are you the person who just called? The shuttle took about 5-10 minutes to get to us from the hotel. I will never stay at this hotel again and I advise people who like to be treated with respect should not stay here either. I feel as a customer based business you should man your front desk with friendly people.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sindonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#13 of 49 in Oakland
955 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
0.9 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Property: Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Address: 150 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621-1422 (Formerly Park Plaza Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport! Arrive and be greeted by comfort and convenience aboard our complimentary Oakland Airport shuttle. While you're here, take advantage of our outdoor pool after a workout in our 24-hour fitness center and rest comfortably in one of 189 beautifully-appointed accommodations, including rooms with private balconies. Awake to fresh air on your very own private balcony, stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and order room service or head down to our on-site restaurant for a delicious breakfast. Offering six flexible meeting rooms for business and social occasions, full-service catering, and state-of-the-art A/V support, Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport is a desirable choice for casually luxurious meeting venues in the Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Oakland
Park Plaza Oakland
Oakland Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing