We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service from Marguerite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Horrible service from Marguerite”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Your hotel, and every person in it, were amazing during my trip. Except for your front desk person Marguerite. Unfriendly from the time she greeted us, to completely rude and unhelpful when we found out our reservations got mixed up. She acted like it was our fault, did not apologize for the mess up, did not offer us alternate accommodate because of the mix up, and was just rude to the core. She should not be in customer service at all, or work with the general public. Shame on her! Shame on Red Lion Hotel for having her as a staff member.

Room Tip: Don't let Marguerite check you in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginafromla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    122
    77
    56
    55
See reviews for
104
89
32
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The place is quiet and the beds are comfortable. There are no shortage of pillows and it is cheap. However. The surrounding area is questionable and we found toenail clippings on the floor. When we told the morning desk clerk, she laughed until I showed her pictures. Then she said she would send housekeeping up. But she didn't. Then I went back in the afternoon and they just kind of apologized awkwardly. I would not recommend staying here despite the Red Lion in Seattle being pretty nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tottenkoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this room on Priceline for very cheap, and for the price I was very impressed. The room was great, with a comfortable bed and big balcony. The service was not, but for a quick stay or one where you don't need service I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stopped there for two nights on our road trip to visit San Francisco. The area is a bit sketchy, so watch out for your car, they don't take any responsibility for what happens in the parking lot. Also the company on the floor was a bit shady.

The room was small, musty and not very clean. Houskeeping failed to clean it for our entire stay. The AC looked and smelled like it needed thorough cleaning. Technically no WiFi available. For the price I would expect something better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DakotaGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the lack of cleanliness in your guest room. I would like to apologize that our staff did not clean your room during your stay. Please be assured that these issues will be addressed accordingly with our housekeeping department.
You are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakland hotels

Pescadero, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Needed something fast and close to airport. Room was ok. Internet WiFi was terrible. Never had a reliable signal. Bathrooms were not clean. Bed was very comfortable. Room was quiet.
Average experience, expensive In comparison.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insaneroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I am a commuter ( I live in Houston but work out of Oakland.) I used the shuttle with no issues. Everyone has been polite even at 12a. I checked in and out with the same front desk crew. The room was clean, fresh towels and the ac worked fine. The breakfast/server were good. Even the shuttle drivers were nice. Super close to the airport. I love it! One non major issue is i got a room near the busy street. You can hear motorcycles and large trucks faintly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmulder21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Overall, decent hotel to catch a plane from, but communication was poor on getting the shuttle from BART to the hotel on a cold, rainy night. Was told shuttle would arrive 10-15 minutes. Got there in 10, waited 15 more, no shuttle. Called and they said the shuttle had been by but we weren't there and that it would be another 20 minutes. They could have communicated better and taken some responsibility. Felt blamed. Lastly, we ended up with what we reserved in spite of that they lost our reservation. Rooms were clean and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#13 of 49 in Oakland
956 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Courtyard Oakland Airport
#11 of 49 in Oakland
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Property: Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Address: 150 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621-1422 (Formerly Park Plaza Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport! Arrive and be greeted by comfort and convenience aboard our complimentary Oakland Airport shuttle. While you're here, take advantage of our outdoor pool after a workout in our 24-hour fitness center and rest comfortably in one of 189 beautifully-appointed accommodations, including rooms with private balconies. Awake to fresh air on your very own private balcony, stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and order room service or head down to our on-site restaurant for a delicious breakfast. Offering six flexible meeting rooms for business and social occasions, full-service catering, and state-of-the-art A/V support, Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport is a desirable choice for casually luxurious meeting venues in the Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Oakland
Park Plaza Oakland
Oakland Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing