We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, unpleasant accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
South Bend, IN
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great location, unpleasant accomodations”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its location practically on the airport property and because other Red Lion Hotels were really quite good. Not the case with this one. The hotel has a tower plus two other units on the back 40. The tower may have been OK. But the unit in the back, was terrible. I was in the 2nd floor room furthest toward the airport. Airport noise was nil. However, a whining mechanical noise that could not be blocked by ear plugs continued the entire night. In addition, free WiFi was advertised. I could barely pick up the WiFi at the check in desk and restaurant, and not at all in my room in the back 40. On the positive side, I enjoyed my evening meal at the tiny restaurant and even tinier kitchen. My bed was comfortable even though I didn't sleep much due to the whine. There are other places nearby. Next time I'll stay there.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, pick a room in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank compost4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your various experiences while visiting our property. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you experienced due to the mechanical noise noise not allowing you to get a good night sleep. This is something we will be looking into and following up with our engineering staff on. We value you as a guest and make every effort to enhance our guest experience. In the future, if you are having any troubles with your guest room, please do not hesitate to contact our front desk for additional assistance. Thank you for being a valued guest and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    125
    80
    57
    59
See reviews for
113
89
33
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here briefly on a quick layover back from Hawaii. The airport shuttle was prompt and the room comfortable (if a little small). The beds were a bit firmer than I like, but a decent stay overall.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

As soon alas you enter a room, the lights in the entry way turn on as do the lights in the vanity area. While this is helpful on one level, it proved to be disturbing during the night. There is no way to deactivate the sensor. Getting up a couple of times in the night is not unusual for me. I did not appreciate having bright lights turn on every time I got up. It was very difficult to return to sleep. The hotel is in a good location; close the OAK and a courtesy shuttle that runs every 20 minutes. Stay here if you do not get up often in the night or if you pack duct tape to cover the sensor. Personally, I am going to try the Hampton Inn down the street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donegalcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you like sleeping in a tractor trailer, next to a freight elevator, with the smell of overflowing ashtrays next to your head, THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU !!!

i think next time, I'll would just sleep in the back of a Uhaul at a Walmart, before staying there.

*Heat system fan very noisy.
*Entire floor has overwhelming smell of smoke.
("Non-Smoking Hotel" must mean not on fire
so much so, they leave the hallway window open, in 40° weather.
*Toilet runs on/off not stop (so it was shut off).
*Hearing noise like an elevator, although it's all the way down the hall (the only one in service).
*Carpets in room, still wet. Can only hope it's from cleaning ???

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hughmorme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here in November on our late night return from Hawaii...With 24 hour airport shuttle they were very convenient, and they were very welcoming even after midnight...Early opening restaurant allowed us to have breakfast before being back at airport at 7 AM...Clean comfortable rooms...after our "safety" issues at another facility on our outbound trip, this is the place I will choose for future overnight trips to Oakland

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahottoddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

No complaints here. My whole group liked the rooms. Parking was free.
Check-in was painless, and the clerk was very helpful.
The rooms looked like they were recently refurbished.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked off discount site, for a place to sleep before a very early flight. traveling with 2 little ones I was unsure the hotel would be nice to us, looked like a place older couples would stay at. But they put us in the west wing of the hotel away from others, and the boys played without complaint. Bed was super comfy and the shower was hot. we ate at the Bistro, it was expensive but good, but the single waitress was SLOW, she needed help with just 5 tables of 2. shuttle was prompt and strict on the time table. very nice stay and quiet for being next to airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetMecGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#11 of 49 in Oakland
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
4.5 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Property: Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Address: 150 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621-1422 (Formerly Park Plaza Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport! Arrive and be greeted by comfort and convenience aboard our complimentary Oakland Airport shuttle. While you're here, take advantage of our outdoor pool after a workout in our 24-hour fitness center and rest comfortably in one of 189 beautifully-appointed accommodations, including rooms with private balconies. Awake to fresh air on your very own private balcony, stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and order room service or head down to our on-site restaurant for a delicious breakfast. Offering six flexible meeting rooms for business and social occasions, full-service catering, and state-of-the-art A/V support, Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport is a desirable choice for casually luxurious meeting venues in the Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Oakland
Park Plaza Oakland
Oakland Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing