We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice deal, nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice deal, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked off discount site, for a place to sleep before a very early flight. traveling with 2 little ones I was unsure the hotel would be nice to us, looked like a place older couples would stay at. But they put us in the west wing of the hotel away from others, and the boys played without complaint. Bed was super comfy and the shower was hot. we ate at the Bistro, it was expensive but good, but the single waitress was SLOW, she needed help with just 5 tables of 2. shuttle was prompt and strict on the time table. very nice stay and quiet for being next to airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetMecGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    94
    60
    44
    49
See reviews for
71
65
25
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mendota, Illinois
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Arriving at the hotel the front desk clerk said the computers were down. We waited over a hour to get checked into our room. The shuttle took a hour and a half to pick us up at the Bart. Fish and F.F. were fish sticks. When we checked out they had charges on our bill that we didn't make. Cold showers. We told the person working at the front desk about our concerns and I even called after a few days and still haven't heard anything from the general manager. I was told Brian would be contacting me.

Room Tip: Find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozi61342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent one night at the Red Lion prior to an early flight. The hotel is close to the airport and does provide shuttle service to/from the airport beginning at 4:00 AM. We did eat lunch at the lounge and the food was very good. Our room was clean and the beds comfortable with nice linens. The staff was friendly and helpful. Once in the hotel, we didn't venture out. We felt secure in the hotel but Oakland is not the kind of city I would want to walk around in .

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor. There are 2 elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Beware - do not leave your car here. Car's are broken into every night - I almost think it is employees that know that you are parking your car and leaving town. I had a confirmed reservation in writing from my travel agent ( Unfortunately I asked her to book this - and she warned me ) and when I checked in - they could not find my confirmation - but found me a room at a higher rate. After my trip - I was double billed - and told that I didn't show up for my travel agent's reservation that they could not find - and I didn't cancel it - so they charged me for that. I am fighting with my credit card company now - trying to deny the charge. To top it all off - the rooms were dirty, the staff rude. If you stay here after reading any of these reviews - you are crazy. Not worth it to save a buck. It will cost you more in the long run.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rivrsiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los ángeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

first of all , there is no security at all . Insufficient lightning, no Security Guard, no Cameras...
its a very dangerous neighborhood , so its irresponsible and grossly negligent form the management to taking more care of their Customers. We parked our car in front of the Hotel to check in , and when we came back after a few minutes the car was broken in ( window was smashed ) and all our stuff was taken .Creditcards, computer, purse....etc.
Police showed up after hours...it was a horrible experience, and it seems that this happens all the time there. So stay away from this place and go somewhere else....we learnt it the hard way..
Happens in September !!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

we had a very late arrival to this location. I received my room key without a problem, however my 3 traveling companions had a horrible time with Marlow, the night desk person, obtaining their rooms. All the other staff members were very polite and helpful. This hotel has a very nice Bristol within their building. with very good food and reasonable cost. Room and all facilities were very clean. This location is on hotel row and next year will have access to the BART extensions planned to Oakland airport.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This could of been a bad day at the hotel the one night I stayed. There was a football game between the Raiders and Steelers and every hotel in the area was booked. I booked at the Red Lion (not my first choice) but because I thought it was higher quality over other hotels in the area, like a Motel 6.
I came into the lobby and there was an argument between a guest and the staff. What was it about, I dont know, but instead of trying to calm the situation, I was quite disturbed when one of the staff members had to get in the last word, so the guest had to get his word in and for the next 10min it was a batter of trying to get the last word. Again, I dont know what it was about, but I walked into that loud argument and that is Strike 1 against this hotel.
There is not much of a choice to eat in and around the area, there is an italian restaurant, but on Sundays it was closed, with no car and being in Oakland, I decided it was safer to stay in and eat at the restaurant.
The food it okay at best, not bad, but not gourmet either. They offer a variety of dishes from steak dinners, pastas and bar foods like burgers and wings. I had the burger (playing it safe) but here is how the restaurant went.
The service was lousy, slow, and non exsistent at best. I picked the cleanest of tables because more than half the tables were still dirty. I chose a table at the corner and the table next to me was not bussed, I counted 4 tables that were not bussed in the 90min I was at the restaurant. I did not want to be there for 90min, but the service was slow. There was 1 waiter, 1 bartender for a full bar and restaurant on a Sunday home game. You figured the manager would of staffed for this, but he/she didnt it was slow. I waited 15min just to get a drink order and another 10min to get the drink, then another 10min to wait to order the food. The food wait was 25min, and for the 90 min I was there, my drink was refilled only once, and I had to 'borrow' a napkin from a clean table and I had no silverware and no one asked me if my meal was okay or if I needed anything else. And when I left, the same 4 tables were not bussed or cleaned. In fact a party of 5 came in and had to move the dirty glasses out of the way, and instead of the waiter taking them away, he moved them aside to the furthest part of the table. Strike 2.
The hotel room looked nice, nice comfy bed okay showers, decent TV with a smaller than average channel line up, but a few things that irked me. 1. the cleanliness. I dont think the sheets were changed. 2. On the hook behind the bathroom door, there were 2 towels form the night before still on the hanger. And 3. no one picks up the trash in the hallways. I cant tell if it was the sheets or what, but at 3am, I woke up to this horrible smell. I couldnt go back to sleep and I had to wake up at 4 anyways, so took a shower, and when I leaving I noticed someone had put all of their food right infront of my door. 2 full containers of half eaten food with this overwhelming stench of onions (probably what woke me up) Strike 3.
Again, I could of stayed there on a bad night. But my first impression was horrible. I was on a very short business trip, I wanted to get a good nights sleep, good food, and be ready for my 6am flight the next day. I got okay food, horrible service, dirty towels, arguments between guest and staff, and didnt sleep because of a horrible smell in my room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Javier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#11 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Courtyard Oakland Airport
#12 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Property: Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Address: 150 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621-1422 (Formerly Park Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport hotel in Oakland, California offers superb Three-Diamond, full-service accommodations where personal service and comfort will give each guest a memorable experience. Our beautiful Oakland, California hotel is located halfway between San Francisco and San Jose, California located in the heart of the East bay. We are minutes away from the University of California at Berkley, California State University East Bay, Stanford University and San Jose State University, as well as numerous community colleges. Also be sure to visit Jack London Square bustling with unique shops, restaurants and nightlife. If your leisure time allows, please make Bay Street Mall a priority for all of your retail shopping needs, this shopping center, located less than 18 miles from the hotel, features a variety of specialty shops as well as known retailers such as Coach, Abercrombie and Fitch & Nike just to name a few. The Red Lion Hotel in Oakland, CA is also fortunate enough to have nearly forty well-established houses of worship nearby, including First African Methodist Episcopal Church, Allen Temple, Buddhist Church of Oakland, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, and Temple Sinai & Jehovah's Witness Oakland Central. Weddings, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Quinceañeras and Corporate Events are our specialties, with meeting rooms ranging from our executive boardrooms to Monterey room and our California Ballroom. Red Lion Oakland International Airport Hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from the Oakland International Airport from 4:00 A.M. - 11:00 P.M. Our shuttle service also provides transportation to the Coliseum BART Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Oakland
Park Plaza Oakland
Oakland Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing