We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kansai Sushi Bar & Japanese Cousine

Kansai Sushi Bar & Japanese Cousine
4345 Telegraph Ave, Oakland, CA 94609
510-658-7273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 1,215 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I love the food and the environment. I always value you a place where staff value the customer.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank BillSmith510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love It, and they Have Great LATE Hours!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I have eaten here several times!!...Good Service, Excellent Food!!...Enjoy!!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank ClassySharelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Late night Japanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

This restaurant is also known as Kan Sai. On a Friday night, I walked in wondering why there was a crowd and few seats empty at midnight at a Japanese restaurant. This is that place to head to in Oakland, CA if you need late night food as it is gooooooooood. I ordered teriyaki chicken which came with rice, a nice side salad and slide of orange. It was wonderful to get such a fresh selection at that time of night. Great meal after a few drinks at the bar. They were still making sushi at 1am. Wow!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rnj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Been by here a couple of...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Been by here a couple of times, finally went with friends. Got your standard Japanese affair, rolls, bento, udon, soba, etc. Bento portions are really big. One of my friends complained about the soup for the udon, too much MSG. But there is the menu on the last page, that's the less stereotypical and more creative stuff. You want to order from there. Spicy tuna is really spicy. (Maybe just me.)

Excellent service!

Decor is more foreign oriented though... Got a bar.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“good sushi and friendly...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

good sushi and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kansai Sushi Bar & Japanese Cousine also viewed

 

Been to Kansai Sushi Bar & Japanese Cousine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing