We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Z Hotel Jack London Square
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter on a trip to the San Francisco area. We opted for Oakland because the prices were cheaper. It was an easy free shuttle plus BART ride to get into downtown San Francisco.

Hotel staff were super friendly and helpful. The Buttercup Grill, next door, is a pretty decent restaurant for what it is, too.There's a free shuttle right outside that takes you all the way up Broadway, which makes this place convenient to the BART.

The hotel is very nice. The rooms are great with minor exceptions, which are that there's no mini fridge or safe in the room. For me, this is a big deal as I am on a special diet and have to bring along some food for myself. Fortunately I had a large cooler, and the ice machine worked well, so we managed. I also missed having a safe in the room for my laptop and valuables. Aside from those two things, I'd say this is a great place to stay, and I'll certainly use this hotel again on a future stay in SF.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesicansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    105
    91
    33
    23
See reviews for
48
88
38
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's not the Ritz BUT we loved this place which was minutes from O.co to see the A's. Great staff, especially Barbara the front desk clerk. Parking garage right under hotel. The place was newly remodeled and very clean. Yes you can hear the trains, but not so much that we couldnt sleep. Great short walk to Jack London Square and great local restaraunts. Nice little cafe next door to hotel. We were not disappointed and will return.
.

Room Tip: If you are super sensitive to train tracks two blocks away ask for the north-east side of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caronjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Three words: Trains !!!!! No sleep !!!!! After that, does anything else matter? Truly, the train whistles range from loud to louder and are most noticeable during the wee hours of the night when there's no white noise to mask it. I repeat, trains, no sleep. I was in room 204, facing the courtyard. Don't let the front desk folks tell you, as they told me, that the noise isn't bad in the rooms facing the courtyard. That was the reason I ranked the service as poor. I specifically inquired about the noise, based on warnings from other reviewers. Why oh why didn't I heed their warnings rather than assume I could get a room w/o train noise if I only requested it?

Room Tip: Room 204 is courtyard, faces the pool. It's a pretty view, but when the train whistle blasts an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve_and_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakland hotels

Morro Bay, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We used to live in Oakland, and yet we had a hell of a time choosing a place to stay on our first visit back. There just aren't any decent-yet-reasonably-priced places in town. Sadly, the Inn at Jack London Square errs more on the side of "reasonably priced."

Originally we were planning to stay at the Inn for 3 nights, but then my aunt offered us her house so we switched it to 1 night. When I called to make the change, the person who answered the phone was kind of weird. There was something going on in the background and she kept asking me questions and putting me abruptly on hold before I could answer. I actually called back to confirm that the change had been made because I wasn't confident that she was paying attention.

The pros: a parking garage ($14/day) monitored by a security guard. The room was quiet, although we were only there for about 8 hours in the off-season. The room was clean too. Biggest pro was the price--around $100 a night. That's pretty cheap for the Bay Area, even Oakland.

The cons: a definite "roach motel" vibe. The room and bathroom were tiny. Everything smelled kind of musty and dusty and smoky. An elevator that seems to have been borrowed from the set of a horror movie.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakethegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to spend 1 more day in the bay area. I booked this hotel online through Orbitz. They were offering a "last minute" deal for $99.00 on a Saturday. Most of the hotels in SF were charging close to $200 to stay for 1 night?!
The hotel has a small parking garage which I like especially being downtown Oakland. Check in was easy. The clerk was very friendly. The rooms were immaculately clean! So were the hallways. Beds were comfortable. Restaurants and bars were within walking distance. We definitely got a good deal on this hotel. And we will stay here again next time we are in the bay area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floracupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tukwila, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

This is an older hotel, probably built in the 1930s or 40s. As such, it's got a lot of quirks - poor sound insulation, small bathrooms with old plumbing, and one old elevator. It was a good value for the money, but it is definitely not an upscale property.

On the upside, the property is always kept in immaculate condition - I saw staff sweeping and cleaning at all hours of the day. It's also in an ideal location for car travelers, with quick access to San Francisco, Berkeley, and east bay communities. there is also a great collection of restaurants within a couple blocks.

On the down side, the area seemed sketchy at times - I was frequently hit up by panhandlers at all hours of the day or night. also during my stay, the hotel always seemed to have a large number of 20-something guests that were using the place as a place to party at night, and it occasionally got noisy.

This is a good, basic hotel if you're looking for a economical place to stay in the Bay Area.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for town nights on business and the rate was unbelievable for the Bay Area. Close to freeways, convenient for most East Bay activities.

My room was clean and spacious enough. The bathroom was a bit small. I'd give the accommodations a C+ to B- letter grade.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
1.9 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
2.1 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#9 of 49 in Oakland
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Hotel Jack London Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Hotel Jack London Square

Property: Z Hotel Jack London Square
Address: 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-3802 (Formerly The Inn at Jack London Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Z Hotel Jack London Square 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Z Hotel, located in the heart of Jack London Square puts this boutique hotel in sync with the new Oakland vibe... "One of the coolest cities in America." The hotel offers first-class hospitality and an array of amenities. First on the list of amenities is Oakland's extraordinary climate... ranked #1 in America. With relatively cool summers, warm winters and little rain, you can get out almost anytime of any day. Second, on the list, is the walk ability of the neighborhood. And walk around you should... there are dozens of things to see and do. The Z's unique location puts you within walking distance of: The waterfront, marina, open spaces , bike trails, sailing, paddle boarding, canoeing, kayaking and rowing. 50+ restaurants, coffee houses, bars, beer gardens and urban wineries. Convention Center, Business District, Historic Old Oakland, City Center, Chinatown. Nightlife, live music, theater, movies, galleries and more. Free Broadway Bus Shuttle, San Francisco Ferry, BART, Amtrak Train and the A C Transit The Z... easy to remember, hard to forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Z Hotel Jack London Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Jack London Square Hotel Oakland
Hotel At Jack London Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing