We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The A's need a new stadium” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of McAfee Coliseum

McAfee Coliseum
Ranked #29 of 115 things to do in Oakland
Attraction details
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The A's need a new stadium”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had great seats at the stadium, but this stadium is sadly out of date given all the great new stadiums in baseball. We were in the second row because the price of the tickets were very reasonable. I suspect this is because the stadium is not that great. The fans around us were very nice, even though we were cheering for the visiting team. The game was very exciting and the home town fans were really into the game. We traveled to and from the game using the BART and that was surprisingly efficient. Hopefully a new baseball stadium deal for the A's can get worked out soon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoots V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    25
    19
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Scarry for visiting fans”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Interesting older stadium/ball field. Ist time to be in a ball park that is also a football stadium. A's fans did not take Ms. Manners course on how to treat guest. They should never feel they are in danger!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Loni_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Raiders vs Chargers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I went to the Home Opener of my all time favorite team RAIDERS and loved the atmosphere of the Coliseum. I had a great time. The only thing that I did not like was that they quit serving alcoholic drinks by half time. That to me wasnt cool but besides that I had a great time with all my RAIDER NATION family and met new friends during the tailgate. It was a blast!! I will definitly be back to Oakland for any and all games!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank A1maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“need more AV screens”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Been to many Raiders games here. Would like to see better food and beer on the 'upper levels/cheap (ha!) seats.' Choices are Bud & Bud light, pretty much, on level 3, home side, plus hot dogs or nachos. had to go to level 2 for better stuff, and then drag it all back up-not good! have enjoyed monitors showing game in toilets and stands at Lambeau-so when you leave your seat for whatever, you don't miss a beat...now that Al is gone, maybe a little more money could be spent to improve viewing for fans?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank raidercat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorris, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Black Hole”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Plenty of history in this ballpark. 6 World Series, the Swingin A's of the 70's, The Bash Brothers of the 80's, 20 game win streak in 2002, Perfect games from Catfish Hunter and Dallas Braden, Rickey Henderson making opposing pitchers nervous when he gets on base, Long bombs from Reggie Jackson, Jose Canseco, Mark McGwire. Games abruptly coming to an end with Rollie Fingers and Dennis Eckersly coming in to pitch. And that's only half of it.
Then there are the Raiders. The Black Hole. Al Davis on the sidelines. Ken "The Snake" Stabler, Dave Casper, John Matuszak, George Blanda, Ted"The Mad Stork" Hendricks, not to mention the fans in the south end zone. Silver and Black are required colors on game days.
The stadium is quite easy to get to from the Nimitz Freeway. Take 66th St. or Hegenberger Rd. exits.Not as many food choices as AT&T Park, but prices are lower here. A's take a more straighforward approach to presenting games, Fans are very passionate about A's and Raiders. Definite college football like atmosphere during baseball season. A's ownership continually complains the the facility is a dump, try telling that to Raiders fans. It's really not that bad of a ballpark. Located in a depressed neighborhood, but there is major police presence on gamedays, nothing to worry about here. Good hotels located nearby and near Oakland Airport. If you are a Denver Broncos fan, plan to be uncomfortable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McAfee Coliseum also viewed

 

Been to McAfee Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing