We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLOSED as of September 2012”
Review of B Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
B Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $30 - $30
Restaurant details
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“CLOSED as of September 2012”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Replaced by the new bakery/restaurant Borgo Italia. Borgo is excellent and unlike B, is open for breakfast (pastries only), lunch and dinner, until 11p at night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great casual dining”
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

We read about the B Restaurant in Oakland here on Trip Advisor and decided to try it. We had tried the San Francisco restaurant and liked it. The Oakland experience was even better. We sampled the gnocchis with mushrooms as an appetizer, and shared two different pizzas as the main course. The gnocchis were perfect, maybe the best we have tried. The pizzas were very thinned crusted without being cracker like. The sauce was complex and a bit spicy. The toppings were fresh and crunchy. The pizzas could not have been better. The menu is full, changes frequently, and reasonably priced for the quality. The service was very professional, friendly, and attentive. We will return and sample the other offerings.

Helpful?
Thank Captflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL, USA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“VERY NEAR the convention center: excellent!”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

A local Oaklander told us about this place after a long Saturday of attending an event at the Oakland Convention Center. Wow, what a GREAT FIND! I loved all the great Asian restaurants in the area, but this was the best for dinner. The atmosphere is excellent, the food is delicious, and if you are a rum fan, you are in heaven. I love Nicaraguan Flor de Can~a, and this is the first time I've ever seen a RUM menu (with Flor de C on it!). A group of 8 of us went, and we had a very fun evening. The place is a little cavernous, so everyone spoke up a lot, and I'm afraid our group was quite boisterous, BUT we loved the place and I think every single person in our group would agree that B'S RESTAURANT is definitely worth visiting. (My only disappointment was that they were not open on Sunday evening when I tried to go back for my last night in Oakland. My loss!) Excellent place, excellent atmosphere!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank orlandotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant in the Cool Old Oakland Neighborhood”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have dined here three times. Great each time. Fabulous gourmet pizza and many other tasty items on the menu. One of the best in Oakland. Also, the Old Oakland neighborhood is a fun place to hang out, especially on Friday and Saturday nights.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank RonSonomaCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“definitely worth the trip into oakland”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

a friend and i happened on this chic little space in what appeared to be an awesome little niche within the oakland community. i really loved the use of space in the building. it is very tough to "insert" a restaurant into a building that wasn't designed for one...these guys did a splendid job making it work. we sat at a communal table along side the bar with a great view of the people on the street through the giant windows. we were able to check out the bartenders making some serious cocktails and could see beyond the bar into the expo kitchen to watch the chefs make some spectacular fare. there wasn't anything i had that wasn't excellent, we ate just about everything that was on the menu and the owners sent out a few "specials" that were outrageous. the wine list was well done with some smaller wineries and obscure varietal choices which i always appreciate. i can't wait for another trip to wine country so that i can stop for another awesome treat at b restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing