We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“You're going to like this place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buttercup Grill & Bar

Buttercup Grill & Bar
229 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-3802
(510) 444-2976
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,215 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
turgtusteynam
Level Contributor
138 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“You're going to like this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's not some 5-star, but it was so great. I went there for breakfast nearly every day and several times to dinner. They really do it up right. Great variety, portions and price. Fresh-baked bread with your dinner. The staff cared. Oh my. It was great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank keith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    57
    23
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Buttercup, home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I'm from Pgh but find myself in Oakland every other week. The Buttercup has outstanding selection, genrous portions and good prices for CA. I tend more often than not to get my dinner there stop in and ask for Brenda, a wonderful server.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills
Level Contributor
505 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“An Oakland Landmark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I just have a very good breakfast. It's been a few months since I've been here but it is still just what I was hoping for. The food is still very good and my server (Barbara) was excellent. The menu is extensive and they are very flexible when it comes to substitutions. They have great pies too.

As I recall, I've been here somewhere between 15 to 20 times over the span of 10 years and the results have been the same. If you are near Broadway in Oakland, give it a shot.

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had read reviews of the Buttercup grill/kitchen and was really looking forward to going. I was disappointed to find that it was similar to an IHop or even Denny's. One visit was enough.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Toujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Delicious food, does not matter when you go, everything is fabulous. Staff are very friendly especially Adrian and Juanita, nothing is a problem for them. Went back several times and cannot fault anything.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttercup Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Buttercup Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing