We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oakland Landmark”
Review of ButtercuP

ButtercuP
Ranked #24 of 1,275 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
North Hills
Level 6 Contributor
641 reviews
515 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“An Oakland Landmark”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I just have a very good breakfast. It's been a few months since I've been here but it is still just what I was hoping for. The food is still very good and my server (Barbara) was excellent. The menu is extensive and they are very flexible when it comes to substitutions. They have great pies too.

As I recall, I've been here somewhere between 15 to 20 times over the span of 10 years and the results have been the same. If you are near Broadway in Oakland, give it a shot.

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    68
    27
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had read reviews of the Buttercup grill/kitchen and was really looking forward to going. I was disappointed to find that it was similar to an IHop or even Denny's. One visit was enough.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Toujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Delicious food, does not matter when you go, everything is fabulous. Staff are very friendly especially Adrian and Juanita, nothing is a problem for them. Went back several times and cannot fault anything.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good breakfast down by Jack London Square”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was checking out the area by Jack London Square. It had been quite a few years since I have visited the area. Buttercup Kitchen sits in the same block with The Inn at Jack London Square. This restaurant is on Broadway at 2nd street and is also near the Amtrak station. If you are looking for a diner, this is a fine choice. The service was attentive even though the place was busy on a Sunday morning. After breakfast you can walk down to the bay walk and check out the booths at the Farmer's Market if you are there on a Sunday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SAS8721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“good breakfast”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Huevos Rancheros were great and service prompt and good. Restaurant clean and lots of locals there-a good sign!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank raidercat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ButtercuP also viewed

 

Been to ButtercuP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing