We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old time diner feel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buttercup Grill & Bar

Buttercup Grill & Bar
Ranked #25 of 1,249 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Old time diner feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great menu options with reasonable prices. Food was pretty good. Wish we could've tried the breakfast. Only a few blocks from Jack London Square.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank bbradshaw_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    66
    27
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Breakfast The Ole-Fashioned Way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Buttercup restaurant is like stepping into a time-machine and going back to a 1950s-60s diner...it's what eating breakfast used to be. This means lots of cream and butter and syrup and eggs and bacon and muffins and pies and pancakes and waffles and other good stuff. If you like this kind of comfort food you'll love the Buttercup and if not, then stay away. The Buttercup even looks old fashioned, with vinyl booths and counter seating. It's a great place breakfast if you are staying at any of the hotels in the Jack London Square area.

I have eaten breakfast at the Buttercup many times during visits to the Bay Area and while staying at nearby hotels (and only breakfasts so my review is limited to them). All my meals have been excellent and very filling. I can especially recommend the omelettes (of which there is a large selection) and the waffles. Portion sizes are big so be sure you are hungry when you come here. The service is very friendly and down-home...even visitors are treated like long-time regulars. While the prices are not cheap, I averaged about $14 per meal, the food is very tasty and filling and the service good.

If I am hungry and it's morning and I'm in the Jack London Square area, I know where I'm going.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonnieBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Santa Fe skillet... SOUR”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I mean, literally, my food was really sour! I was making faces while trying to eat. :( All of their staff were super kind though!!! The next moring, I had their breakfast and it was very yummy though.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank beahbay823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Comfort Food!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Great homemade comfort food for breakfast and lunch. Generous portions at a very reasonable price. The service was friendly, personable and very attentive

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank genetorres3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“3great breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

I am not a breakfast person but this may change that. Large, creative menu and interesting breakfast specials.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttercup Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Buttercup Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing