We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Authentic shops and restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chinatown

Chinatown
Ranked #16 of 115 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic shops and restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Oakland's Chinatown is the real deal. Frequented primarily by locals, it is not touristy like San Francisco Chinatown. Residents shop the lively markets with well priced produce filling the streets. The many restaurants offer all varieties of Chinese food. My choice for dim sum is Legendary Palace. Lots of great reasonably priced choices. On a recent lunchtime visit, most in the restaurant were locals, a good sign.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BalfourOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    50
    29
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In route to Pier 39”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Decided to drive through China Town and I am so glad we did. My husband had never been ( from Memphis) , and he really enjoyed the aura and culture Chinatown offered. Not to mention Fresh Peking Duck !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etna, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is one of the best kept secrets in the bay area. We go to China Town in Oakland to eat and shop for vegetables every time we are in the bay area. Easy parking ( if you go early) and good prices. Dont just buy at the first shop, as prices and quality vary from store to store. My friend Boo from Thailand said the duck I brought her back from Oakland Chinatown was the best she had ever had, and she is a chef/owner of a Thai restaurant

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottFrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Oakland Chinatown is big enough to hold the constant traffic but small enough to browse about. Fabulous dim sum, noodles, dumplings, seafood, etc. Fresh veggies and pastries every day. Fall Autumn Festival at end of August too. Not too much tourist to distract everyday people.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sightseeing98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Oakland's Chinatown is hard neighborhood to judge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

In a marginal area like downtown Oakland, Chinatown offers a bright spot as a center for locally developed commerce. During the day, the streets are filled with the action in small and medium-sized stores, including several that sell fresh and imported grocery goods. There is more foot traffic on Chinatown's streets than elsewhere in the downtown core and one feels safer here than in other downtown areas also. On the other hand, it's hard to judge this as a prosperous neighborhood. A large proportion of the residents are elderly, living on minimal income in subsidized apartments. The availability of good restaurants is limited and the shopping does not offer the breadth of goods that can be found elsewhere. Oakland's Chinatown is a small, seemingly stable part of downtown Oakland, but without the apparent strength of similar neighborhoods in other cities.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown also viewed

 

Been to Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing