We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good and cheap Chinese and Vietnamese food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chinatown

Chinatown
Ranked #16 of 115 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good and cheap Chinese and Vietnamese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Good and cheap Chinese and Vietnamese restaurant. Nice Asian stores selling Asian products as well. Walking distance from Bart!

Helpful?
Thank Trippyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    50
    29
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
“Oakland Chinatown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Too many people and the stores are not neat and too crowded!!!! Not that much scenery to see, and hard to find a parking space. Too many homeless >

Helpful?
Thank Mickey01_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A real flavor of China”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After living in China for a year and a half I find it interesting to immerse myself back in the hustle and bustle of China town. Nothing fancy, just interesting sights and smells (without the hanging ducks). The chatter brings back fond memories of shopping in China. I wouldn't go out of your way to visit here but I come for lunch every time I'm in the area (see review on Joy Luck) and enjoy myself.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flh65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is no tourist trap; Chinatown in Oakland is about the Chinese of Oakland. It's where they live, work, shop, and dine. It's a real slice of Chinese-Americana, without any touristy hype. I'm not suggesting it as a stop on anyone's itinerary. If one happens to be in Oakland, however, it may be interesting to wander around the shops and markets for an honest view into Chinese living.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SalsaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go to San Francisco”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Chinatown in Oakland suffers from comparison to chinatown in San Francisco which is much larger with many more shops and restaurants. When we needed Chinese slippers, the Oakland shopkeeper said his prices where higher than San Francisco because of the distance coming across the Bay. Of course all the containers come from China through the Port of Oakland. That was the last straw. We go to Chinatown in San Francisco for shopping and food or we get takeout from the Chinese resturant in our Oakland neighborhood.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ktgOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown also viewed

 

Been to Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing