We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value For The Budget Traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Value For The Budget Traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Exterior of hotel is a little deceiving. Looks kind of funky. But the rooms are recently remodelled and upgraded. Very fresh & up to date. My room was exceptionally clean. :) My room was on the first floor and it had a little patio, which was wonderful.
Staying in the Bay Area has gotten so expensive. It's difficult to find decent lodgings under $100. a night in Oakland. This is a good place if you are looking for a value. If you are looking for a Doubletree or Westin type of place, this may not be for you.
Location is convenient. There is secure parking in a gate lot. Free WiFi. The continental breakfast is okay - prepackaged pastries, muffins, cold cereal...the usual suspects.. There is a fun old style italian restaurant in walking distance - Francescos. Been there forever. Food is fairly decent, moderately priced. Some real characters hang out in the bar. The hotel also has an outdoor swimming pool that looks nice and well maintained but unfortunately it was not heated when I was there (mid April). The staff was very nice and accomodating. Very friendly.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to travelers looking for a good value.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a little patio. Second floor rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lux T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    42
    24
    23
    28
See reviews for
32
48
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was my second stay at EconoLodge, and I will stay here again in the future. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and comfy, the heaters are great, and I love the balcony patios for the 2nd floor rooms. In exchange for a 1-night stay, they offer 14 days of free secure parking and a shuttle to and from the airport, which is a fabulous deal. All in all, an excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have balcony patios. We've stayed here twice and have never been bothered by str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allegro49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had an 11-hour layover on the way home from HNL to YYJ.

Got the room for less than $60 including tax. Hotel has a free airport courtesy shuttle - shuttle was in rough condition. Need to put some money into repairs or a new one.

Staff was nice, room was HUGE, clean, free internet (wifi).

Motel has an inner grass courtyard that I was able to access through the inside sliding door (like a sundeck door) - this is great if I had been travelling with children.

Would most certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor that can access the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle--Sportvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I just hate it when people rate/compare a place like this to a Westin type property. Yes, a little older, could used some TLC in some room/areas. Our room was clean & tidy. I was surprised at how comfortable the bed was. Made for a great night sleep. The planes did not bother me a bit, plus they stop at 11pm anyway. This was the perfect place for a park & fly deal. The Continental Breakfast was Danishes, coffee or OJ - What did you expect the Hilton?! This is an EconoLodge! If I need to Park & Fly again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NORA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

They may not be the most up to date stylish building, but it has a really big room with truely comfortable beds. I love the little courtyard, TV works well, and their breakfast is good. I have stayed at so called better hotels and the beds suck, so if budget is a must and you want a great bed, stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for both the night before our flight and the night we returned. The price was great for stay and fly, and for the one night when we flew in on a Sunday night at 11:30PM. The room was nice sized, very clean (sheets smelled like bleach and no bedbugs on the mattress) and the bathroom was also very clean.
The queen bed was surprisingly comfortable. The downstairs unit had a broken latch on the bathroom window, but both rooms were fine for one night.
I was VERY impressed that our car was safe for 8 nights in a really lousy area of Oakland.
The continental breakfast was surprising- bagels, toast, croissants, bearclaws, fruit pastries, bananas, apples, coffee, juice, milk, and cereal was an unexpected plus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The shuttle was fast and the driver was very nice.
For $108 for 8 nights of secure parking and one night for $56, it was a great bargain!

Room Tip: 204 was a very nice updated and quiet room with a clean comfortable queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

My car got destroyed in the parking lot 13,000 in damage to it. Are room was dirty. Partying going on all night with loud music from the banquet hall. Security guards pulling guns. Disgusting n dirty. No apology from the manager

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobthefrog24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#28 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Oakland/Alameda
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn Hayward Hotel
17.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 16 in Redwood City
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Address: 10 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Oakland Airport
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Econo Lodge Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing