We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
1 review
“Horrible!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

My car got destroyed in the parking lot 13,000 in damage to it. Are room was dirty. Partying going on all night with loud music from the banquet hall. Security guards pulling guns. Disgusting n dirty. No apology from the manager

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobthefrog24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    43
    25
    25
    29
See reviews for
32
52
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Needed a hotel close to the Oakland Airport. It is. My wife checked it out on Trip Advisor and it had good ratings. Boy do those folks have low expectations. It is the classic "no tell motel," and is a little scary. There is a low security fence but the bathroom window needs a coat hanger wedged in the track to keep out unwanted guests. It has a big screen TV.... the rear projection kind from the 80's. And my wife wouldn't walk barefoot on the carpet... and I kept my socks on too! Good news.... the shuttle to the airport runs on time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rassaslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent one night at the Econo Lodge Inn & Suite Oakland Airport. We stayed here because the hotel was offering a deal of 6 nights of parking for free (we had a flight out the next morning). We thought it was good, even though the cost for one night was over $135. When we checked in there was a sign about the cost of parking per night, and if we had just booked the room, and paid for parking separately we would have saved money! The gentleman would not let us change our reservation, he kept insisting we got a deal, but clearly we did not.

The lobby and exterior of the hotel surprised us. The hotel shares its property with a uhaul rental place. The gentleman working the front desk lacked customer service skills, and seemed to careless about making our check-in a nice experience. When we checked into our room we saw a bloody mucus on the wall (see picture in my review). We went to the front desk to tell them, and not once did they apologize. They said we could move to the room next door. No compensation or apology. The sheets also had stains on them, which was disgusting.

The property itself if very old, and run down. If you walk from your hotel room, through the grounds near the pool, to the back entrance to the lobby, you will encounter garbage, old furniture and other old stuff sitting on the side of the lobby.

Breakfast was a disappointment, it truly is just continental.

We took the free shuttle to the airport in the morning, no issues there, except the driver continued to play on the lobby desk computer while we all waited for him to go to the airport.

The shuttle back was a more pleasant experience. The driver was on time, and pleasant. We arrived late at night, and we were a group of four women. The van pulled into the hotel parking area, right next to our car, and shinned his light on for us while we got into the car. He even waited to make sure we got out of the parking lot okay. That was a nice touch.

I have to say I was worried about leaving my car in the hotel parking lot. The parking area is fenced and locked with a low fence, which is good, and my car survived.

Not sure I would stay here again. The only positive thing was the close location to the airport.

Feel free to email me if you have any questions.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pirokp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were looking for an inexpensive hotel near airport with free shuttle service.
The price was right - but I would look around for something else next time.
Older motel which was very sparse in lobby and breakfast area.
Our room had not been updated in awhile and even though it was large it felt like a low-rate motel. The bed was pretty lumpy and did not have a good night sleep.
The room though was very clean.
Did get our wake-up call on time and free shuttle to Oakland airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
754 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I followed the reviews to this my first stay at this Econo Lodge. It will be my last. First, the staff is friendly, and when asked about a wedding reception in the reception room just across from all the rooms in the motel, he said, we were surprised. They had a wedding reception full blast DJ music until Midnight. Then the water buffalo began a stampede in the upstairs walkways until 1:30 a.m. The music was very pleasing, Mariachi, Caribbean, and finally deep base stuff that all you could hear was the boom boom boom. An occasional plane taking off will roar you to life. No insulation here. If you're planning on sleeping before Midnight, I'd recommend the Hilton across the street. At 3:30 am, the train horns start but quit by 4:00 am. They're building a BART Track outside the door so beware in 2013, you'll have a subway outside your door. Free shuttle and very friendly. TV was scratchy, reception is lousy.

Room Tip: There is no good room to escape the planes, trains, automobiles noise. Recommend week day to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had an early morning flight from Oakland and wanted to be close to the airport. Although we could find no public transit to the hotel from the BART station at Collesium, we took a taxi for $9-10. The hotel was punctual with our wake up call, the shuttle was convenient (they make a run on the hour and half hour) and while we knew no breakfast would be served before the 5am shuttle, we asked if we could grab a bowl of cereal and they were very accommodating. Noisy area with airport and trains, but comfy bed. Once we checked in we didn't go out, don't know how much was in the area, or how nice the area was.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeijingSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Excellent value for a park and fly. The front desk was very informative , polite.
It was quiet and clean, big room. Breakfast was good, simple.
The shuttle was there for us at both ends within 2 minutes.
Would use again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quigs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#27 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
0.1 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#12 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Address: 10 Hegenberger Road, Oakland, CA 94621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Oakland Airport
Econo Lodge Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing