We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“So great what a meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scott's Seafood Restaurant

Scott's Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Scott's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,220 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Embarcadero
Transit: Bart located 10 blocks from restaurant (11th Street Bart).
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So great what a meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Met with friends who travelled from Kenya. We had so much fun and a great meal and excellent service. Thank you so much Scotts! Our server Sept 7 for dinner I wish I could remember his name was outstanding. Food and wine choices were memorable. Thanks for a great evening meant a lot to us!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank darirasalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    124
    56
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A wonderful setting, superb service amazing seafood! definitely recommend and will go again next time in the area

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtbasebll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 790 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Average food, unattentive service, boring menu, pretty much sums up Scott's? At then end of the meal the waitress actually asked if we were celebrating anything special, very strange timing to me as the bill was being rang up

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank LVETOTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Limited to certain dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We remember when Scott's was THE place to eat seafood in the '70's. But this is 2012, and time has mostly passed them by. The fish is slightly overcooked by today's standards, and the sauces pretty much begin and end with lemon/butter/white wine. Not bad, but no longer mind-blowing. What they do well is: fried calamari, which is served with that lemon butter sauce and delicious, if lousy for your arteries. Popcorn shrimp, same. Shrimp salad sandwich is better than the crab salad sandwich. Best of all is the burger at lunch: lunch is quieter, calmer; with a tasty burger with a good bun. Everything else is mediocre, although at least the Boudin sourdough bread is absolutely fresh every day.

The time to come is for the Lighted Boat Parade every December. It happens literally right outside the windows. You MUST make a reservation well in advance, and expect service to be slightly below the barely adequate level it usually it. It is crowded, but a genuinely fun way to begin the holiday season!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
399 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“I can't believe this is in the top 8”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I think that many people who rate these Oakland Restaurants are a bit off. Scott's Seafood (just like kincaid's) is a corporate restaurant focused more on up-selling. Their food isn't terrible, but it's definitely no shining star compared to the gems all over the city of Oakland. Their food is average but I suppose you pay for the spectacular view. The only time I eat here is for the occasional happy hour dinner about once a year (if that) and I live in close proximity.

If you want a nice place to go for a romantic dinner, a nice celebration, or some exceptional cuisine, check out (in no particular preference order) places like:

Hudson, Wood Tavern, Khana Pena, Acote - College Avenue
Comis, Dopo - Piedmont Avenue
Mezze, Side Bar - Lake Merritt
Flora, Pican - The Uptown Area
Rumbo Al Sur - Glenview

And there are so many other great places!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scott's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Scott's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing