We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scott's Seafood Restaurant

Scott's Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Scott's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,234 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Embarcadero
Transit: Bart located 10 blocks from restaurant (11th Street Bart).
Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 832 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Average food, unattentive service, boring menu, pretty much sums up Scott's? At then end of the meal the waitress actually asked if we were celebrating anything special, very strange timing to me as the bill was being rang up

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank LVETOTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    141
    59
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Limited to certain dishes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We remember when Scott's was THE place to eat seafood in the '70's. But this is 2012, and time has mostly passed them by. The fish is slightly overcooked by today's standards, and the sauces pretty much begin and end with lemon/butter/white wine. Not bad, but no longer mind-blowing. What they do well is: fried calamari, which is served with that lemon butter sauce and delicious, if lousy for your arteries. Popcorn shrimp, same. Shrimp salad sandwich is better than the crab salad sandwich. Best of all is the burger at lunch: lunch is quieter, calmer; with a tasty burger with a good bun. Everything else is mediocre, although at least the Boudin sourdough bread is absolutely fresh every day.

The time to come is for the Lighted Boat Parade every December. It happens literally right outside the windows. You MUST make a reservation well in advance, and expect service to be slightly below the barely adequate level it usually it. It is crowded, but a genuinely fun way to begin the holiday season!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
444 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“I can't believe this is in the top 8”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I think that many people who rate these Oakland Restaurants are a bit off. Scott's Seafood (just like kincaid's) is a corporate restaurant focused more on up-selling. Their food isn't terrible, but it's definitely no shining star compared to the gems all over the city of Oakland. Their food is average but I suppose you pay for the spectacular view. The only time I eat here is for the occasional happy hour dinner about once a year (if that) and I live in close proximity.

If you want a nice place to go for a romantic dinner, a nice celebration, or some exceptional cuisine, check out (in no particular preference order) places like:

Hudson, Wood Tavern, Khana Pena, Acote - College Avenue
Comis, Dopo - Piedmont Avenue
Mezze, Side Bar - Lake Merritt
Flora, Pican - The Uptown Area
Rumbo Al Sur - Glenview

And there are so many other great places!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best Sunday brunch I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I don't know how you can have brunch here and not give it five stars. My wife and I first discovered this waterfront dining experience two years ago and have made it a must-stop whenever we are near it on a Sunday. Come hungry. There is no end to the magnificent dishes. Come thirsty. There is no end to the champagne and memosa's. The service is top notch, and the view, well, how can you not like waterfront dining overlooking the boat docks and boat traffic on the Estuary. We have not had dinner here so I can't testify to the dinner. But, this place is a real treat on Sunday mornings.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandJess2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome from Start to Finish!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Great bar area while waiting for my friend to arrive for dinner. Bartenders were friendly and personable. Great view while having drinks. Hostess was very accommodating in moving our reservation to a later time as we were enjoying drinks in the bar. The food was amazing and the service impeccable. Would definitely recommend to anyone and would go back again!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank genetorres3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scott's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Scott's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing