We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent place by the lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zza's Trattoria - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Zza's Trattoria
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place by the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We visited on a saturday when they were having an oyster brunch. The sangria was excellent, as were the oysters. My wife had the shrimp and pancetta pizza and it was top notch. Every wine suggested paired perfectly with our food. Definitely would come back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank duck0872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay area
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ok but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

food was ok but not really good. bruschetta was too bready. wine list was ok. decor but somewhat dingy

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fauxlapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food is uneven”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

I was considering using Zza's Trattoria as a meeting place for dinner with a group of friends from high school days and decided to preview it by having dinner with a friend as I hadn't been there in quite some time. The first thing I noticed is the ambience is looking a bit shabby. Many of the chairs have ripped uphostery and the walls are painted a drab, dark color. I ordered a shrimp pizza which was divine. Thin crust ,tasty sauce and fresh shrimp. However, my friend ordered the roasted chicken and left most of it on her
plate. I tasted a bite and it was dry and tasteless. Two other restaurants in the neighborhood were packed with people while Zza's only had a smattering of folks. It is too bad that I had to decide not to use Zza's for our get-together as I have good memories of the restaurant from the past.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunbabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice space, food unremarkable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Have tried this place a couple of times wanting it to be better, but while it's lively and has a pleasant space and a good wine bar selection, the food just doesn't cut it. The entrees have a reheated in the microwave from tonight's special batch quality and arrive somewhat tired-looking: tasty, but mostly unsubtle and overly spiced or salted. OK for a glass of wine and wander somewhere else among the new Oakland restaurants for better food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CalUrsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good Pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2008

Good Pizza

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zza's Trattoria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing