We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Kincaid's

Kincaid's
Reserve with OpenTable
Kincaid's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,281 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Embacadero West
Transit: Bus #58, 59, 72, 73
Platte City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

You can eat here and see the bay from the other side. It was very easy to park in the garage and just walk to the restaurant. The restaurant was wonderful. The server was excellent and apologized for the service eventhough we were relaxing. We didn't realize anything had taken longer than normal. I would definitely go back. Be careful about being here after dark as the Amtrak train goes thru close to here and there are some sketchy people.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teresala23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    81
    33
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old fashioned but good”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

There are many good restaurants in Oakland and many of them are very "up to date" and fashionable, with all sorts of weird combinations, some of which work and some of which are not so good. Kincaid's is more old-fashioned, even though the menu has been updated considerably since the first time I went there years ago. But, if you want just really good, dependable, seafood and/or beef, with good service and a good view of the water, Kincaid's is the place to go. On my birthday, we searched the reviews of all the nouveaux seafood places in Oakland, then ended up going to Kincaids and we were completely satisfied. We went back more recently and I was satisfied again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, General Manager at Kincaid's, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind words valuable feedback. It is through this feedback that we can continue to meet and exceed the guests expectations. Thank you again.
The Kincaid's Team

Best regards,

Sean Palmer | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food, Atmosphere, Service”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Kincaids honored our Thursday evening 7:00 PM reservation promptly and graciously. A window table with a view of the bay lights mad for a pleasant experience.

My partner raved about the green pea salad with bacon dressing and my blue cheese salad with almonds and hard boiled egg was excellent.

One of the main courses was prime rib which came medium, exactly as ordered. Scallops were the other main dish and they were fresh, served with a yummy lemon butter sauce. They came with garlic mashed potatoes and kale - both excellent.

We shared the chocolate indulgence cake which was intensely chocolate, but not excessively sweet.

KIncaid's is expensive, but we found it worth the cost and plan to return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“On the waterfront!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Perfect setting for a leisurely lunch with friends. Laura, our server made the dining experience a pleasure, giving us a detailed outline of the lunch specials as well as other items on the menu that she thought were especially good. We enjoyed Salmon Bisque, Clam chowder, Salmon sliders....all were very good. The crab cakes were ok....but the string bean,tomato salad that came with it was strange. All in all it was a very pleasant experience...and we would definitely go back! As we were leaving the couple next to our table got their order, of catfish and sweet potato frys....that looked and smelled soooo good, I hope it's on the menu next time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lgrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Just a very pleasant Experience”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were looking for a place we hadn't been before and stumbled across Kincaid's on one list or another. We booked using Open Table and arrived ahead of schedule to a moderately busy restaurant. The hostess was very friendly and honored our request for a four-top (for the two of us) which was right at the window. When my wife spotted the two very noisy kids near that table (I had stopped at the mens room en route to being seated) the hostess pleasantly agreed to reseating and placed us at the booth we had selected as an alternate.

Jacob was our server and was quite pleasant. My wife had the combo clam chowder and 1/2 a crab open face sandwich and I had the country calamari. We were pleased with the setting, the ambience, the food, the service, and the prices. As I don't know how one does better I've rated the experience as excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kincaid's also viewed

 

Been to Kincaid's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing