We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Restaurant Peony

Restaurant Peony
Ranked #346 of 1,276 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Went to Peony's on Thursday for lunch. On Thursday the Peking duck is half price at $14. They first serve the duck skin on mini buns, unlike many restaurants where they chop up the skin and meat in pieces and the large buns are tough. The skin is crispy and not too fatty. I've had better in Asia, but how can you compare. The plum sauce is good, but they were very sparse on the green onions. More than worth the price where I would even pay the regular price of $30 for a special dinner. Also, had some of there dim sum dishes. Quite flavorful where I would certainly rate higher than most other places. One person want to get the egg plant which I generally do not like because tends to be mushy. Nevertheless tried and yes it was a bit mushy, but had very good flavor. The standard dishes ha gow and siu mai were also delicate and flavorful. One in the party said they were even better at Peony's on other occasions. So even on a little off day, it was still quite good. Definitely, plan to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ForeverWonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley, CA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I will never go there again!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

posted lunch hours end at 3:00 pm so why at 2:00 pm did they keep telling us there was no more of this and no more of that? What we did order came out cold like it had been sitting there since noon. The egg rolls weren't light and crispy but cold and full of grease. They didn't even do a proper job of microwaving them!

Once you get a sour taste in your mouth, you start looking around and noticing how shabby the carpet looks. yeah, its pretty worn - probably about 10 years old. And why is there no parking around? People certainly weren't at this restaurant! The garage was completely full and street parking is extremely limited. Had to walk about 5 blocks to get to this mediocre restaurant. Used to be good but has gone way down hill into negative territory.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NorCalBigRedDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious! Can't wait to go again.”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Our family freind took us here are a recent trip to the Bay area. We were there early, so we got a table right away. They have daily specials that are very reasonable. The special of the day when we were there was a chicken dish. (sorry I don't remember the name) It was very good. A whole chicken for $14. It looked like evey table in the restaurant ordered that same dish. We also had the typical dim sum fare, which were all good. But the most memorable dish for us was the Bake Lisbon Egg Custard for dessert! Can't wait to have that again on our next trip to the Bay area! Yum!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dachuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Spacious, large, huge, gigantic...restaurant space.”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Parking is in the lower levels of the building @ $2 per hour.

We were a group of 7 living in different Bay Area cities. We decided to meet here to chat. We met for dim sum on a Saturday @ 11:30am. Peony was fairly full but we got a table without waiting. The service was very good throughout. There were many dim sum carts coming around regularly.

We selected a variety of dim sums. My favorites were; the Chinese broccoli in sauce, the broccoli was fresh & tasted delicious, low bark so(turnip stuffing in a puff pastry) the pastry was flaky crisp with a subtle turnip flavor. The rest of our selections looked & tasted like average dim sum.

We ordered Bolay/Puer & Chrysanthemum teas. Generally the mum tea makes me sleepy so not wanting to feel sleepy early in the morning I drank the Puer tea. The Puer had caffeine & we could feel it.

We all had a good experience & plan to return to chat in July.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gone Down Hill -- Stay Away!”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Peony was one of the better Chinese restaurants in Oakland Chinatown where I often patronize. But my recent visits were so bad I am compelled to warn others.

Their dim sums were made with meats that had a spoiled taste. Other diners must had also noticed it, because there were many empty table during the lunch hours. Dinner was equally bad as they skim on the ingredients and the food did not taste fresh.

A waiter I know well told me the head chef had quit. The replacement they have hired simply is not a good cook. The food tasted bland and uninspired.

The Peony may be suffering due to the bad local economy, but to buy low quality/unfresh ingredients and to have a bad chef only serve to further drive away business.

Be advised that this restaurant automatically adds 10% service charge to all the bills without telling the diners. This practice is not advertised on the menus. Only if the diners look at their bills carefully will they see this charge. Since many diners only look at the total and automatically add another 15 - 20% tip, they end up paying a 25 - 30% tip.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ycliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Restaurant Peony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing