We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Entrees and Appetizers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Battambang

Battambang
Ranked #92 of 1,240 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Entrees and Appetizers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went to eat dinner there -with a group of six. friends, We ordered one of each of the four vegetarian appetizers. Each one was excellent-especially the crepe and papaya salad.
The vegetarian and the seafood entrees were enjoyed by all.
I would expect everyone to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, exciting dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great service and grea food! The menu is quite extensive with some items that are not common, especially the house specialties. For example, we had soft shell crab, battered then fried, seved with a coconut milk sauce, and we also had stiry fry frogs legs with shredded ginger, onion, and chili in garlic flavor. We also had "Curry Kari Sagh Tair" (boneless duck legs, potato, carrot, sweet basil in red curry sauce). Even the appetizer platter was special with rice flour crepe (stuffed with ground chicken and diced prawns), imperial rolls (spring rolls with ground pork, bean thread, onion, ground peanuts wrapped in thin egg roll sheet), and stuffed chicken wings. And dessert was Jack fruit custard with slices of Jack fruit. Our server, who may have been the owner or manager, was especially friendly, cordial, and helpful. When we indicated that we were unfamiliar with Jack fruit, she brought us half of one to hold and explore. I had no idea they were as big as, or bigger than, watermelons. This place is unassuming from the outside, but there is a very warm welcome inside and some exciting dishes to try. By the way, the name of the restaurant is Battambang, not Battam Bang.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Making me look good...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

So, when some friends from out of town asked where we should eat near Jack London Square, my mind went immediately to Battambang. It was a tough sell, because there were other restaurants closer, one gentleman is a "steak and potatoes guy" and neither of the other two have ever tried Cambodian food. With a little negotiating, I convinced them to try it, and I looked like the hero! Even Mr. Steak and Potatoes was excited when we left. We ordered the green papaya salad, the imperial rolls, the lamb chops (better than in New Zealand according to one friend), the fish in lemongrass sauce, the spinach noodles, the fried banana w/ice cream and the sticky rice. We cleaned every plate and even ordered a second lamb dish! No, the service isn't speedy, but it shouldn't be for food with this much flavor. I was glad when my friends said they will definitely want to come here next time they are in town, because that means I get to go again! (Okay, I can go any time, but it's fun to introduce others to this delicious restaurant) The restaurant is small and homey, the service was unrushed and friendly, every dish was presented beautifully, and most importantly....every dish was delicious!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank themoogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real authenic cambodian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Must have is their chicken kabobs over rice,green papaya salad and their country land beer. Place is a little dim but its ok no one will attack you. Its located on broadway between 8th/9th st you might miss it if you're not paying attention.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gr8eats88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Cambodian EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Excuse the old carpet and stereotypical Asian restaurant decor and dig in to a wonderful meal. We grazed through most of the menu on three separate visits over 5 days and were thrilled with a papaya salad, fresh coconut water, tasty curries, and a jack-fruit/coconut milk custard that was the best desert ever to grace my tongue. The staff was prompt and helpful. A great experience and I highly recommend.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank easystreets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battambang also viewed

 

Been to Battambang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing