We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, exciting dishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battambang

Battambang
850 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-4016
(510) 839-8815
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 1,217 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Concord, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, exciting dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great service and grea food! The menu is quite extensive with some items that are not common, especially the house specialties. For example, we had soft shell crab, battered then fried, seved with a coconut milk sauce, and we also had stiry fry frogs legs with shredded ginger, onion, and chili in garlic flavor. We also had "Curry Kari Sagh Tair" (boneless duck legs, potato, carrot, sweet basil in red curry sauce). Even the appetizer platter was special with rice flour crepe (stuffed with ground chicken and diced prawns), imperial rolls (spring rolls with ground pork, bean thread, onion, ground peanuts wrapped in thin egg roll sheet), and stuffed chicken wings. And dessert was Jack fruit custard with slices of Jack fruit. Our server, who may have been the owner or manager, was especially friendly, cordial, and helpful. When we indicated that we were unfamiliar with Jack fruit, she brought us half of one to hold and explore. I had no idea they were as big as, or bigger than, watermelons. This place is unassuming from the outside, but there is a very warm welcome inside and some exciting dishes to try. By the way, the name of the restaurant is Battambang, not Battam Bang.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Making me look good...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

So, when some friends from out of town asked where we should eat near Jack London Square, my mind went immediately to Battambang. It was a tough sell, because there were other restaurants closer, one gentleman is a "steak and potatoes guy" and neither of the other two have ever tried Cambodian food. With a little negotiating, I convinced them to try it, and I looked like the hero! Even Mr. Steak and Potatoes was excited when we left. We ordered the green papaya salad, the imperial rolls, the lamb chops (better than in New Zealand according to one friend), the fish in lemongrass sauce, the spinach noodles, the fried banana w/ice cream and the sticky rice. We cleaned every plate and even ordered a second lamb dish! No, the service isn't speedy, but it shouldn't be for food with this much flavor. I was glad when my friends said they will definitely want to come here next time they are in town, because that means I get to go again! (Okay, I can go any time, but it's fun to introduce others to this delicious restaurant) The restaurant is small and homey, the service was unrushed and friendly, every dish was presented beautifully, and most importantly....every dish was delicious!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank themoogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real authenic cambodian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Must have is their chicken kabobs over rice,green papaya salad and their country land beer. Place is a little dim but its ok no one will attack you. Its located on broadway between 8th/9th st you might miss it if you're not paying attention.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gr8eats88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Cambodian EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Excuse the old carpet and stereotypical Asian restaurant decor and dig in to a wonderful meal. We grazed through most of the menu on three separate visits over 5 days and were thrilled with a papaya salad, fresh coconut water, tasty curries, and a jack-fruit/coconut milk custard that was the best desert ever to grace my tongue. The staff was prompt and helpful. A great experience and I highly recommend.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank easystreets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing food, inexpensive prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Batta Bong offers the best value in south Asian food I know. The streetside appearance is unassuming, but this small Cambodian restaurant is clean, pretty, and welcoming once you enter. Extensive menu and excellent service when the restaurant isn't too busy. Almost everything on the menu is priced between $8—15. Don't make the mistake of ordering more than one dish per person. Portions are very large. My calamari with mushrooms, peppers, spring onions and basil in a brown curry sauce would easily have served two people and was perfectly cooked. It came with a tub of steamed rice that might have served four. Total cost: $12.25.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aboehmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battambang also viewed

 

Been to Battambang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing