We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Consistant Favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phnom Penh House

Phnom Penh House
Ranked #163 of 1,220 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistant Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is our regular spot for Cambodian. Friendly service, excellent food, best fried bananas we've found so far! I love the SAMLOR KATIS soup w/ pineapple & young coconut meat. Perfect comfort food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reliable but too toned down for the less adventurous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I love South East Asian cuisine... the bright flavors, fresh ingredients, rich coconut curries - all of it. It's great to have a Cambodian restaurant in the neighborhood, and their chicken soup with lemongrass, lime juice and fresh mint is clean and refreshing. However, you really have to push them to put the heat back into dishes that should have a good spicy kick. Some of the dishes have been too dumbed down for bland, less adventurous diners, and that's a shame.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank aabonyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I LOVE Phnom Penh! They have two locations in Oakland, and this review is for the one on 3912 MacArthur Blvd., in the Laurel District. My wife and I have eaten here many times and it's consistently good. It's a family run, Cambodian restaurant, and the owner always welcomes me by name. We love the poached salmon with roasted garlic, basil, and black mushrooms. Have the Cha Kathiw their version of pad thai. We also like the charbroiled pork with lemongrass and house
sauce. Prices are very reasonable, you'll keep coming back...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Left Coast
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“If you find yourself in Oakland, try Cambodian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Came here with a group of friends getting ready for Springsteen at the Oracle Arena. I think we made it a louder place than it usually must be.

The menu list is staggering - categories organized into three-digit numbers for each dish. Lots of curries, mint and pineapple choices. The service was attentive and efficient - which was nice when we were already late for the scheduled start of the show (we made it). I would go again in a heartbeat if, 1. I found myself in downtown Oakland, and 2. I had a larger group to share the menu with!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank umbrellaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Little Restaurant in Oakland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The first time that I ever went there was in 1993, and I never miss a chance to eat there whenever I am in Oakland (which fortunately is several times a year). The family who runs it is tremendously nice. Even though I live in the Philly area, whenever I walk into Phnom Penh House, I feel like I'm one of the regulars. The owners know my colleague and I so well that they even remember our favorite dishes after a few months absence. Speaking of which, the food is simply delicious. The pan-fried noodles with chili sauce (Cha Kathiw) are to die for; the eggplant stuffed with pork (Traop Ang) is a wonderful blend of sweet and savory flavors; and last but not least, the charbroiled chicken (Moarn Ang Kreun) is magnificent! My colleague always insists on getting these three dishes to share, and I never complain, although when I've gone there alone, I always try something new -- stuffed chicken wings (Slaap Moarn Borg) were excellent!

The original on 8th Street is on the edge of Chinatown in a sketchy neighborhood, but I've gone there many times for lunch and dinner and have even walked from the Convention Center at night without incident (Disclosure: I'm a 6-foot, 190 lb. man). They also have a relatively new location in Alameda that is a bit nicer in decor, but has the same menu. I can't vouch whether it is authentic, but I love this place! The prices are right, too! My three favorite dishes (mentioned above) are plenty enough to feed two adults for dinner, and all for less than $30 (not including tip, or beverages). Hands down, one of my favorite restaurants in the U.S.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phnom Penh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing