We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“My favorite restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phnom Penh House

Phnom Penh House
Ranked #163 of 1,220 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oakland, California
1 review
“My favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a good time at this restaurant ,.... everything are perfect ..me and my friends always think about sour soup at that restaurant when we have free time..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Malaine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our All-Time Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you come to Oakland, you have to fit in a visit to Phnom Penh. We've been coming here for easily 20 years and the food is consistently wonderful. We've taken all of our friends here at one time or another and they all agree. We don't know the Cambodian names for the food or the numbers on the menu, but we ask for "noodle prawn," "beef on a stick," "barbecued chicken" and "red snapper." Or just ask for what John and Virginia always order.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GinOaklandCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of those great family restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We have eaten at this family run Cambodian restaurant for many years. We've watch the staff get married and watched the children grow. We'll miss a few months and come back and we're greeted like we ate here 3 times last week.
The staff is great and service very attentive. Cambodian food is not the same as Thai or South China. Different spices and combinations.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldjgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
208 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Phnom Penh still wonderful after so many years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Phnom Penh House is a consistently wonderful restaurant in Oakland California. The Chicken soup broth is simply lovely and the seafood combination, sauteed with baby corn and gravy are the essence of great comfort food. The fried bananas are a delicious way to end your meal. Don't miss this simple but wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lesmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunkletown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

After having traveled to Cambodia myself and tasted the cuisine as made by the locals I can tell you that Phnom Penh is more wonderful and more tasty than the "real" stuff. I always visit Phnom Penh when ever I am in the Bay Area and have been a tremendous fan for almost 20 years. My favorites are Nhorm Yuheur, Spicy papaya salad, Moarn ann kreun, Hmaok trei, Char kathiw, and Traop ann neun sach chhrouk. Wish I was there right now.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamiam65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phnom Penh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing