We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dinner, but I miss the old Garibaldi's/Hudson”
Review of A16 Rockridge

A16 Rockridge
Reserve with OpenTable
A16 Rockridge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #125 of 1,265 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Manila and Bryant
Transit: Rockridge BART
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
534 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good Dinner, but I miss the old Garibaldi's/Hudson”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Had dinner here the other evening with my boyfriend. The waitstaff was probably the absolute best part about our dining experience. The host, server and busser were all very friendly, prompt, and helpful.

Nothing on the menu really stood out to us, so we just decided to order two appetizers and share a pizza. We ordered the ahi tuna carpaccio and the burrata. Both were actually incredibly tasty! We ordered a marinara pizza and added proscuitto and egg. The crust was amazing, flavors were good...but no cheese on the pizza. I guess it didn't mention any cheese on the ingredients, but I thought it's because it's just a given that there was cheese...I guess not...So...taste was there, but it wasn't really my kind of pizza.

cocktails were great...I had the pepe, which had a great bite!

Overall, good experience. Garibaldi's/Hudson used to be my top 3 favorite restaurants in Oakland...I'd say A16 might make my top 15.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    32
    18
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
317 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a new location in Oakland. We visited with out kids who live in the area. The decor was lovely. Some of the food was spicy so I needed to be careful when I ordered. The waitress was good but was waiting on too many tables. We had to wait about 15 minutes for acknowledgement. We had our 4 yer old grand son with us and asked first thing for her to bring out a pizza for him prior to anything else. His pizza arrived AFTER all of the other food we ordered. The food was beautifully served and very tasty and the wine list was good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gbwcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian hits the mark”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We happened to be in Berkeley and heard A16 opened a second location on College Avenue. A very different vibe from the dark hip A16 in SF. This location has a great chef's bar, felt more open & bright yet had it's own unique bustling vibe for a Monday night. We arrived right at prime time without a reservation, and it appeared the server and bar staff received an unexpected crowd, so we were patient on a few delays and entertained by the Pizza Chef who crafted each pizza in front of our seating. We started with Anchovy and Friarelli Peppers that were crisp and fantastic. Roasted Calamari that had a green salsa verde sauce that was super flavorful. And while we did not intend to order any pizzas, we had to after watching the chef for an hour. The pizzas are perfect, wood-fired for about 1.5 minutes with classic ingredients and flavors that you won't find at most pizza places. The sides all looked amazing, our favorite was the farro and braised greens. The bar and wine selection is excellent. We always ask for wine by the glass recommendations here because the Italian wine list is extensive by the glass. I love the 3oz pours that allow you to move throughout the menu. And dessert, save room, the dark chocolate torte was laced with rosemary sea salt and a honeycomb like candy that was the perfect bite. Delicious. Gracious staff, definitely needed another bartender this evening. Good guest management, worth a stop on your itinerary and I recommend sitting at the chef's bar if you are with a small group.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingcowgirl_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decidedly Mixed”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Our birthday dinner high hopes were dashed by the very mixed quality of the dishes, some of which arrived lukewarm. Service was gracious, however, and they tried to make amends for the cool food with comped deserts (unfortunately, we didn't want desert and they didn't ask, just brought it).
The green salad, pizza and lamb sausage pasta were excellent, though the pizza was one of the dishes that was not hot and had to go back. The calamari appetizer was outstanding, but the steak, that day's special dish, was chewy and rather plain, and also had to go back for reheating. Having to reheat multiple dishes seemed to throw the service timing off, as well, as there was a long break between entrees and salad (which we had requested after the entree).
Everyone has a bad night, but this was Saturday and that added to both our expectations and subsequent disappointment.
The wine list is extensive, with an excellent Italian selection. It's pricey, but there are decent choices in the lower ranges. I'm told the cocktails were terrific.
All in all, A-16 in Oakland hasn't matched its San Francisco location yet.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Definitely worth returning to.”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Good modern American food -- i.e. eclectic menu choices, innovative. It is crowded and a bit noisy, but not so noisy you can't hear each other. Kohlrabi salad excellent. Hangar steak perfectly prepared and great seasoning. Fried calamari (very large portion) served very hot and nicely seasoned though my favorite calamari is at Marica down the block. Wine prices a little high and corkage is $25, which is high for Oakland -- but if you buy a bottle they waive it - so we bought a $32 Aglianico which was okay. Large wine list almost entirely Italian. Portions large. We had a good waiter - Lucas. Will definitely return, could become one of a few favorite restaurants in East Bay. Prices - salad was $11 I think, pork chop $28, forget others. I am loath to rate a restaurant excellent after only one visit, but I think it might be.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bigsteve666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A16 Rockridge also viewed

 

Been to A16 Rockridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing