We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot”
Review of Tribune Tavern

Tribune Tavern
Ranked #93 of 1,278 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wilmington NC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Spot”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great service from everyone we encountered. Seems to be a "happening" spot. Food was good, interesting selections, and it was a very neat building.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flygirl13762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    27
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Try the fries!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Whatever you do, try the poutine fries. They are amazing. I normally am not a shepherd's pie kinda gal, but it's amazing here. I've had both twice they are so good.

Sometimes it can be kind of loud here, especially at the bar, so if you want quiet, this probably isn't the restaurant for you. I actually prefer the sister restaurant, Chop Bar. It's a little more casual.

The building, location and architecture are great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to go after work”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nice place in downtown Oakland to grab a bite after work. A little loud, but good energy and good food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrischPaslay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good ambience”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was very quiet the Saturday we were there for brunch -- BART strike and beautiful day, so most folks probably were out on their bikes. Mellow setting and dark paneling, like the old newsy days. Food and bar drinks were very good, as was the service. Great place to meet friends and easy location and parking on the weekends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbDavis_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food was SOO good”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The waiters were very attentive and polite. I enjoyed the atmosphere. BEST of all!!!! Draft beers! We came at a very busy time but we were still accommodated.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GramGramSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tribune Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Tribune Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing