We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice alternative for downtown Oakland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tribune Tavern

Tribune Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Tribune Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 1,249 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A nice alternative for downtown Oakland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

There aren't a lot of non-Asian options in downtown Oakland so this place was a welcome addition. In the beginning, the food was great and the service, not so much. Now that the service has improved, it seems the kitchen could use some more help. They've cut back the portion sizes but there is still plenty to fill up an empty stomach. Not a great place for vegetarians. It's a great place for business lunches or just to get away and enjoy a unique beverage.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1bossymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    27
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool place with sidewalk seating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Sat outside for lunch - great people-watching. This place seats a good many people - tables, bar tables, a large bar and the outdoor seating. I had the Cobb salad with fried chicken (you can get it with grilled) and it was very good - pancetta was done correctly, lots of egg. It was a little light on the chicken and a little too heavy on the dressing. My friend had the burger which he declared to be great - it's a thick 1/3 lb and he likes it medium rare. They also have a cool soft drink called a lemongrass phosphate - very interesting and refreshing taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vincent p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfort food amid the noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

As a former newspaper employee, I was really interested in seeing this restaurant in the iconic Oakland Tribune building. It had a large bar, accomodated a large group that was there celebrating something, as well as couples, my small group of four people, and a few single business people. They had some imaginative takes on comfort food. They were also out of a couple items we wanted. The service was o.k.. We happened to be there when there was some special for employees to come have free drinks or something - so they were a little rowdy. Our waiter paid a little too much attention to them. Otherwise, it was fine, and I'd go back. If you're worried about safety downtown at night - it was fine. There was a security guy standing right on the corner, presumably to keep anyone from bothering patrons seated in the fenced in patio area. It was nice having the open air feeling, even inside the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
264 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and cocktails, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This restaurant is retro inasmuch as it reminds one of the old taverns from bygone days. This is a good thing! One can just see the newspaper reporters sitting and imbibing! The décor is classy and consists of a lot of dark wood. There is an outside patio along the sidewalk, and for indoor diners there is a large space that opens to this patio. Service is very good and attentive. Our reservations were early (5:15) and we were seated immediately. The menu is not extensive, but the dishes are very good. For starters, the Welsh rarebit with a beer and cheddar fondue topping and the potted rabbit (in a pate form) were excellent. Entrees of shepherd pie and the yellowtail (on special) were very good but not spectacular. And to finish, the pot de crème and the sticky toffee pudding were great. The cocktail list is creative and imaginative including the Rickey Tikki Tavi made with Black Bottle Scotch Whiskey. The BART station is only one block away if one wants to enjoy these cocktails. The wine list is interesting with a number of wines on tap.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dragonrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Interior Restoration / Great Crowd / Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I'd been jogging by the major remodel in the Tribune Tower and saw the excellent materials being used to put in new lighting, build out the bar and provide great lounge and dining spaces. Finally it opened and I could not wait to see if the staff and cuisine measured up to the beautiful space. I'm glad to say it has. It offers interesting and tasty Tribune cocktails with names from the bi-line pages of the old Oakland Tribune. My friend had a Travel Section, a tropical floral combination that smelled as good as it tasted. I had one of the fine specialty beers on tap.

Unique ingredients and combinations made for a very interesting menu. The staff is friendly and attentive. On a Wednesday night it filled by seven o clock. I would recommend making reservations, especially on the weekends.

The tavern is a welcome addition to the area and looks like it has the chops to stick around in the dicey category of new restaurant. I give it two thumbs up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anddrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tribune Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Tribune Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing