We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clovis, California
1 review
“Very Nice Hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were quite surprised upon arrival. Only there for one night but when we walk in we were surprised at how nice the hotel was. Beautiful view of water, friendly staff, were at to check in quickly and head to coliseum which is just minutes away. Very nice rooms, clean and comfy, and nicely decorated. Nice eating area for breakfast, over looks water.

Room Tip: request room facing water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbolson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    191
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
269
213
32
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

My ceiling leaked like a shower whenever the guest above us took a shower. All maintenance did was come to the room with towels to clean up the water. Room was very dark and there was no overhead lighting. Lamps did not provide sufficient light.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, NJ, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hotel clean and inviting, try to get a room with a water view otherwise you look at the highway. Close to Lake Merritt and Jack London pier where there are many restaurants and attractions. The breakfast was ok but I am not a big fan of frozen egg patties, but there were other choises and plenty to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shelby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

The place is clean, so at least the cleaning staff is doing a good job, but the rest of them are not service minded at all. The front desk staff were everything from indifferent to down right rude and had no interest in the guests at all.

The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere and therefore they offer a complimentary shuttle service to the BART (train) to SF or to the ferry. Be prepared to wait. You always have to make appointments in advance, but even when we did we never waited less than 15 minutes, but to wait for up to an hour was also to be expected. We chose this hotel with the unfortunate location because of this service, but it really doesn't work. The drivers don't care, the receptionists don't care and the management is never to be seen. Stay away unless you have a lot of time to waste.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gunn Iren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our room on the top floor had a good view of the bay with sailboats, hotel staff members provided local restaurant and recreational information, the beds were very comfortable, the amenities were high quality, the breakfast buffet was simply adequate, and the walkway along the bay to an old lighthouse restaurant was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homedale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very positive experience, great customer service at the Bayside Hotel in Oakland, CA. We were in town for a family wedding and stayed 2 nights and were very pleased with the cleanliness, spacious rooms, view, and overall customer service by the staff at the Bayside.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband spent one night here earlier this month. When he called to inquire about airport shuttle service, they insisted they could pick him up directly at the rental car location (instead of him taking a shuttle back to the main terminal). Nice touch! He found Gabriella, Veronica, Enrique, and Charles all thoughtful and friendly staff members.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsmom2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.8 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
2.9 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#8 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Address: 1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel's stunning views and rooms overlooking Oakland's estuary. We are 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. Our rooms are spacious and beautifully arranged for a relaxing stay. The bathrooms are extravagantly designed with a glass enclosed shower separated from a soaking tub and private water closet. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator & in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing