We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Beautiful hotel with superb amenities and gorgeous views. Very clean spacious nicely decorated rooms. The coffee stand microwave and refrigerator highly convenient when accommodating children.Close to the BART. Excellent breakfast with large selection of hot and cold healthy food choices. Helpful available staff who gave us assistance with restaurant recommendations and directions to downtown San Francisco. We really appreciated the one hour early check which the staff was able to extend to us. I would recommend this hotel to vacationers as much as business travelers. The money spent to be on the bayside of hotel is well worth the money as it provides not just a pretty water view but fun boat activity watching as well. We plan a return visit to the bay area and will definitely make the Bayside Best Western our home again for our visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Amy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Amy,

Thank you for your kind words. Our staff works very hard to do the things you outlined in your note, so I know they will be excited to hear that you appreciated their efforts.

In your note you mentioned making our hotel "Home" again. This couldn't make us more happy. That's what we're striving for.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    191
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
269
213
32
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ceres, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Nice, quiet, clean and spacious room (king room)! I checked out several hotels before deciding on this hotel and am very happy with my decision! I felt safe at night walking from the parking lot to the hotel..... Free parking was a plus too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel....nice water view with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here one night before flying out to Kona. This is a beautiful and well maintained hotel. Room was clean and very comfortable. They were nice enough to upgrade us to a king with bay view as we were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. The office chair and workspace was wonderful. I have been thinking of asking them what kind of office chair it was as it was so comfortable. The breakfast area was clean. A great variety of breakfast items and of course the beautiful view out the front windows of the bay. We used their free shuttle to and from the airport. The drivers were courteous and handled the busy traffic safely. The front desk personnel were very nice and quick to respond to our needs. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the bay side rooms. Well worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAAdams53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Fort Collins,

Thank you for your comments and we're very happy that you felt comfortable with us. That is our primary focus.

You had a question regarding the desk chair in our rooms. Those chairs came from a manufacturing company called Eaton, and the style number is 2306 "Task Chair" We're not sure that Eaton sells retail, however now adays with the internet you can probably find anything you want.

We'll look forward to your next visit to the islands.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Reyes Station, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I pulled off the freeway and thought "Trip Advisor let me down". I considered driving on to another hotel, even though I had reservations, this place is RIGHT off the freeway and I did not want to spend the night listening to traffic. The possibility of losing my deposit is the only thing that got me to go inside. I'm glad I did.
The staff were SO helpful and kind. Suggestions for dinner within walking distance, ideas for walks, how to book the shuttle, wake up call - all with a smile and an honest desire to give great service.
My room was amazing! Third floor looking out to the bay. I had forgotten that Oakland even had a bay. Beautiful, quiet and the option for fresh air. I read in the sun on the little patio, then took a walk along the bay. It was fabulous. Before going to sleep I called my partner and booked a stay for the next time we'd be flying out of Oakland.
The bed was comfy, the bathroom was HUGE with a separate tub and shower, the gym had equipment that all worked (gasp) and offered towels and water, breakfast (included in price) had plenty of tasty and healthy (or not if you choose) choices.
The shuttle here runs by appointment which I thought would be a drag. Quite the opposite - it was nice to have a driver pull up right on time and then head for my flight. On the return I called and the shuttle arrive earlier than expected and long before some of the "oh we run every 15 minutes" shuttles. On the way back to the hotel to grab my car I talk to a couple who takes advantage of the Park and Fly service they offer for long trips. Sounds great to me.
5 stars for a Best Western? Yup - this was a great place. I'd go out of my way to stay here again.
Thanks to the gentleman who was working on March 12th when I checked in. You were flipping amazing.

Room Tip: Water view rooms are great. Little noise and fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoastalBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Best Western Plus - Bayside is an amazing Gem in Oakland. The staff provides excellent service and the property is nice, quite and perfectly located between the airport, city and San Francisco. It's my favorite location when I travel to Oakland for business.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Martha Osorio at breakfast is an excellent employee with excellent attitude and service Ian and David at the check in at night are excellent employees with excellent attitudes Diego at the check out in the morning displays good attidutd

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Robert,

Thank you for the kind words on the team. Because we're a 24 hour, 7 day a week business it takes a team to be available when our guests have a need. We're glad we were there for you.

Thank you for choosing the Bayside Hotel and we look forward to your return.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels for the money! I recently stayed at a four star hotel in San Jose and the room at this hotel is equal to if not better than the one in San Jose. Also, if you get a bay side room you cannot beat the view for the value! This is a hidden gem!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Craig,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us.

Spring is just about to hit here in Oakland and I was out on the deck last night watching the sun set over San Francisco. We had a nice warm day and a promise of a great weekend in the 80's. You're absolutely correct about the hidden gem quality of the property. Well said

We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.8 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
2.9 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#9 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Address: 1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel's stunning views and rooms overlooking Oakland's estuary. We are 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. Our rooms are spacious and beautifully arranged for a relaxing stay. The bathrooms are extravagantly designed with a glass enclosed shower separated from a soaking tub and private water closet. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator & in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing