We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was wonderful, Roberto's reservation service was even better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houghton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The hotel was wonderful, Roberto's reservation service was even better”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I am was able to get partially compensated for some of my two nights stay in this hotel as a per diem cost for presenting at a conference. As an educator, I don't usually stay at places as fabulous as this hotel was but figured with the extra funds I would see what it's like to live in style. My husband and I loved it here.

However, even more wonderful time and our good night's sleep was the help I received from their reservation desk. U needed to file an expense account nine months after we stayed and I needed to provide receipt to show I actually stayed in a hotel. This is when I realized I did not have an electronic or any copy of the receipt. Thank goodness that Roberto helped me, he quickly located and emailed me a copy of my old receipt--even though my name had been misspelled and the hotel had changed hands. So glad we stayed at this first class hotel, They are so good they even take care of you long after living in the lap of luxury is just a memory. While the stay was worth every penny we paid, it's nice to be able to prove I used funds I was given so I may get a portion back.

Room Tip: ask at the desk, I recall the clerk letting us know some rooms were quieter than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarriedWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    203
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
289
224
36
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Big Flats
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights. We loved every minute of it! The staff was beyond helpful. We used the hotel's van to travel around the city several times. The drivers were all amazing. We have no complaints about our stay at the Hotel. The room was HUGE and clean! The food was delicious. And the breakfasts were switched up, so we never had the same breakfast two days in a row. I loved the fact that there was FRESH coffee (and hot cocoa) available throughout the day. My son LOVED the pool - although we did have to walk to the sister hotel next door. We definitely would stay here again. It felt like home!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel was easily accessible from the freeway. I wasn't sure if our reservation was for the Executive Inn or the Best Western, as they are next to each other and must have recently merged services. I naturally went into the wrong place, but the employee quickly looked up and verified my reservation, and called the Best Western to indicate I was on my way. At Best Western, they continued where Executive left off, and provided wonderful check in service. Although they were a bit short handed and I had to wait, the employee kept coming back to me, so I didn't mind the wait. The room was large and beautiful, with a fabulous view of the Bay. Unfortunately, I checked in late and left early, but there appeared to be a great walking path around the water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is an extremely nice Best Western. We rented a king room with a balcony and view of the water. In the morning I took a walk behind the hotel next to the water. The room was spotless and comfortable. I think I've found my new home for business trips to Oakland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jittterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We loved our 3 night stay here. Our room had the water view and was well worth the extra price. The $10 steak night was surprisingly good and the location was convenient after a long day. Would stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulbthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

One of the best. Nice, clean, modern, friendly staff. Keep it like it is! The rooms are very clean, furniture is modern. Wifi is ok. Only 15 mins away from San Fransisco, you avoid the more expensive hotels. You have to pay $4 when you enter SF over the renewed bay bridge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Serge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night but this hotel is definitely aesthetically pleasing. All of the employees said hello and were helpful. The rooms are in superb condition. Breakfast was quite good. Location is also a plus as it was a short drive into San Francisco. The only complaint we had was that we thought the beds were too hard, however we realize that is just a personal preference and should not reflect poorly on this gem of a property.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
883 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.8 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
2.9 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#9 of 49 in Oakland
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Address: 1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel's stunning views and rooms overlooking Oakland's estuary. We are 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. Our rooms are spacious and beautifully arranged for a relaxing stay. The bathrooms are extravagantly designed with a glass enclosed shower separated from a soaking tub and private water closet. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator & in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing