We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Vacation”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great hotel, very clean large rooms. Decorated nicely and modern. The hotel shuttle is so convenient to the Ferry or BART. Nice to have breakfast ready. We were a little concerned to stay in Oakland but it seemed separated from the city. It was right next to the freeway but make sure you get a waterfront room with balcony. Any noise from it is gone. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Z2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    206
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
293
227
36
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

A good hotel to stay at for access to San Fransisco without the dirt and expensive prices. The rooms are clean, spacious and well maintained. The staff are all efficient and friendly, especially Cameron on the front desk. If you need any help or advice, he is only too willing to assist. Would my family and I stay here again? When we are in the area, definitely. The only suggestion is that to find the hotel by car, if you do not know the area, sat nav is very useful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Connoisseur2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Well, it's 845am and I've been waiting for robes that I requested at 7am in person at the front desk.I stopped at the front desk to ask for these robes prior to having the comp breakfast to save myself some time before leaving my room for the day. Obviously I'm writing this review because I'm still waiting, I stopped at the front desk again to be told that housekeeping doesn't come in until 8am but they would run it up as soon as they got in.....again now its 855am. Two stops at the front desk, one phone call and I'm ready to leave for the day. Really? More on my stay later because I don't have time to wait around for robes, BTW I wanted the robes so my grandfather & kids wouldn't have to walk from the pool through the outside corridor then through hotel in dripping wet towels, its only 68 degrees here today.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoFirewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSalesManager, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I am so sorry to hear about your experience with the delivery of the robes. I spoke to our housekeeping staff as well as our front desk staff, and it seems like there must have been a miscommunication. The robes were ready in our front desk office right after our housekeepers arrived at 8am. However, they were under the impression that you did not want us to deliver the robes up to your room, but was instead going to come down and get them.

I truly apologize for the miscommunication, and the inconvenience we caused. I heard that the issue was resolved and that you did have a wonderful stay with us. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I and a friend were booked into the Hotel...we hunted for it but there was no sign. WE finally asked and we were there. The hotel is huge and spread out. We had a bayside room. We almost need cracker crumbs to find the room down all the halls. The room was large and quite lovely. The manager was most helpful and pleasant. They have a van that will take you to the restaurant and to the ferry terminal and probably anywhere else you would like to go. It was quiet and very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knittinggrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a great alternate to staying in pricey SF hotels where you have to pay for parking. Shuttle will take you to BART station or Ferry at Jack London Square. Breakfast is good, with lots of choices. Receptionists are friendly and very helpful. A good value for the money. Not in a great neighborhood but the premises are fine. It is still Oakland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The front desk was very helpful and friendly. We were very satisfied with the décor and the cleanliness of the room. Our only complaint was the breakfast. The eggs were cold and there weren't enough seats to eat your breakfast. The area around the hotel wasn't very inviting as it was covered with graffiti, but if you can get passed this it is a very good hotel. This hotel needs to improve on providing a better breakfast for its guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Beatriz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSalesManager, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you Beatriz for your feedback on our breakfast. Unfortunately, we do not serve a full american breakfast. However, we do serve an upgraded continental breakfast, which always includes two hot items. Those two hot items are different from day to day. One day it is scrambled eggs and hash brown, and another day it is french toast and link sausages.

Breakfast is a very important meal, and we appreciate all the feedback we can get on our food, in order to improve our quality of offerings and customer service.

I am sorry to hear that you had a hard time finding seats. If we are sold out and the majority of our guests decide to come down at the same time it tends to get a little crowded in the lounge. However, most of the time we have plenty of seats around the breakfast buffet.

I am glad you enjoyed staying with us and I hope you will return for a second stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

There are a lot of pitfalls to choosing an Oakland hotel, but this one leaves nothing to chance. There are two sides to this hotel--the first, its convenient location right off the 880 freeway. When you walk inside, however, that side is forgotten. I was greeted by the famous Cameron, who has been mentioned in numerous posts. The lobby is lovely and spacious, with 24-hour coffee service and a good (and free!) breakfast, with waffles, eggs, fresh pastry, yogurt, fresh fruit, toast. Rooms are spotless and really, really big! 700 sq feet!! All of the rooms overlook the estuary, and mine had a balcony. The fitness center was well-equipped and also very clean, with a big flat-screen TV. Really, this is an economical choice for the business traveler, but for tourists there is also the convenience of the shuttle, which takes you to the BART for further exploring and to Jack London Square, an Oakland landmark. I was visiting family in the Oakland Hills, and the hotel was a short drive from there. I will be back! Many thanks to the helpful and welcoming staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors for a great view of the estuary and its water birds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
888 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.8 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#9 of 49 in Oakland
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Address: 1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel's stunning views and rooms overlooking Oakland's estuary. We are 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. Our rooms are spacious and beautifully arranged for a relaxing stay. The bathrooms are extravagantly designed with a glass enclosed shower separated from a soaking tub and private water closet. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator & in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing