We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in Oakland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Honolulu, Hawaii, Usa
2 reviews
“Stuck in Oakland”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had an unexpected stay in Alameda/Oakland due to unforeseen circumstances. I needed to change the number of nights twice during my stay and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Great rooms

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Klonoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    203
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
289
224
36
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northridge,ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Rooms an facilities were beautiful and comfortable. The front desk attendant, Cameron is a treasure. He was well informed and gracious!

The rooms overlooked the bay, which was nice, but neighborhood is a bit sketchy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swingdancer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSalesManager, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and to compliment one of our team members. I will certainly let him know you mentioned him in your review.

Unfortunately we don't have many restaurants or shops right next to the hotel, and since we are close to the freeway, it might seem like a worse neighborhood than it is. But I hope that our beautiful property and waterview location makes up for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azusa, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Loved staying here. Room was huge, and nicely decorated. The hotel looks newly refurbished. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was generous, and the " fancy coffee" machine is available all day. Free shuttle to the BART. Wonderful view of the bay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in more than a few Best Westerns.This one is a standout.Not only are the amenities really great but the staff could serve as a training ground for customer service.Prior to booking the room, Chenell took a good amount time getting my wife (who gets sea sick in a bath tub) comfortable with SF ferries.I was impressed and Chennel was the reason I booked the booked the reservation.Tim OB 6/2 & 6/3

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSalesManager, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you Tim for the compliments on our customer service! We work very hard to meet the highest possible standards of service and make our guests feel like home. I am glad our hard work is paying of.

I will let Chennel know that you appreciated her help and service.

I hope everything went well with the ferry to SF. It is very convenient and let's you avoid traffic.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

My party of 3 found reprieve here for 2 nights. You will open the door to find a large, tidy, updated room. We stayed in a double queen & it met our needs with 4 pillows on each bed. Full coffee service is offered all day & breakfast is provided.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were treated with class. Cameron went out of his way to accommodate us. The dryer didn't work properly. He just kept giving me change until things worked. Recommended the ground floor suite with sliding doors out to the lawn and a beautiful view of the Bay. Coffee machine (free) ground fresh beans, cappuccino great. Breakfast was a great spread. Hot tub and pool very clean. Late check out was standard. Altogether a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Back side ground floor suites open out on to private lawn, running path along the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Memorial Weekend. Felt like we were staying in a high end hotel. Rooms were nicely appointed and it was clear it had been recently updated. All rooms are great, but especially enjoyed the upgrade the second night to a room with a bay view, just beautiful!
Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
881 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.8 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
2.9 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#9 of 49 in Oakland
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Address: 1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel's stunning views and rooms overlooking Oakland's estuary. We are 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. Our rooms are spacious and beautifully arranged for a relaxing stay. The bathrooms are extravagantly designed with a glass enclosed shower separated from a soaking tub and private water closet. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator & in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing