We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wow! This isn't your fathers Best Western.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wow! This isn't your fathers Best Western.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really nice hotel. Convenient to freeway or Bart System with free shuttle service. Complimentary continental breakfast plus more. Huge and nicely styled rooms and really nice bathrooms. The one complaint might be the water pressure of the shower. Overall I was very impressed. Very helpful staff. Highly recommended. I wish I had more time to check out the fitness center and pool. Thanks. P.S. Not Usually into leaving feedback but I had to make an exception for this.

Room Tip: Standard room was more than adequate.
See more room tips
Green Features: Maybe a little too environmentally friendly when it comes to shower water pressure.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pallmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    180
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
252
203
30
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This Best Western located on the Embarcadero, in Oakland was an excellent choice for our two night stay. Although it was busy weekend, staff was all the best!
Two stand out: Cameron at the front desk for check-in and shuttle services, was friendly, helpful, and attentive to every detail. Thanks, Cameron. Morning breakfast staff person - Montsarret was also a notable employee. despite very busy traffic on weekend morning, she was working constantly to keep everything stocked, and clean, I never saw her stop working!!
Breakfast selections were quite nice, lots of choices. food was fresh and hot. Also good coffees, which I appreciate!
Overall the hotel was really well run. Located on the waterfront, with very nice views. Rooms were very clean, everything perfect. Housekeepng did a fine job, while we were out.
Swimming pool and outdoor spa was sparkling clean. Spa was hot and also clean. Pool area was clean, and located right next to the bay for pleasant views.
I think a well run hotel, with quality funishings, and staff that work hard to be courteous and meet needs desrves recognition. I highly recommend this Best Western.

Room Tip: rooms on the bay side are quieter, and have vicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomMcD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have stayed at other hotels in the area and really liked this one. Clean, friendly staff, huge room! I stayed in one with a whirlpool tub. Stay was short (about 9 hours) but I loved it. Right next to the freeway and a train across the freeway and never heard either one!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank NanetteW90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

What can I say? Nice hotel! However, I was very surprised that Best Western had switched from Executive! The room condition is very nice. I really like the separate tub and shower. Nice water view from my balcony. Clean hotel and nice facilities. The service is what I like most of this hotel! When I checked in, Mr. Cameron was smiling and happy to assist. As I spoke with him, I found out he is a fellow Spartan, as I am an alumni of SJSU, was very happy to hear. We need more informative, and knowledgable college students like himself. He was also a very good listener, and he placed me in my preferred room as requested. Note: I came in without a reservation, and still had my preference met!

Thank you, Best Western! I'll stay again!

Room Tip: Water side! Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you Clarence for sharing your experience with us. We switched over to Best Western just about 2 months ago. It is our former suites building that has now turned into the Best Western Plus Bayside hotel. The two hotels are still under the same ownership, but guests in our former suites building, now the Best Western, will receive reward points now.

Thank you for acknowledging our staff and service. I will make sure to let Cameron know.

I hope to see you back with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel greatly exceeded my expectations! I booked multiple suite rooms and they were much larger than anticipated - there was plenty of room for 3-4 people, allowing us to claim our own space. The rooms were also very clean, the beds comfortable, and I was happy with the balcony to enjoy the waterfront view. The staff was wonderful and made us feel welcome. They upgraded one of my rooms without charge when they had an issue with water leaking in another room. This hotel was one of the few in the area with free wi-fi, free parking, and complimentary breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family/friends and will plan to stay here again in the future when I am in the Oakland area.

Room Tip: Choose waterfront suites for better views of Embarcadero Cove and San Francisco
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This nice hotel with rooms on the Waterfront, without the noice of the 880 Freeway, made our 4 nights stay to enjoy travelling to a Big City.
Parking free for our car, bringing by shuttle to Lake Merriot BART station, we were in half an hour downtown SF .
As seniors we had a greencard from BART, that means $ 24 value for $ 9 pro person.
The breakfest is fine, the room was nice and clean. Good services overall, for a price we could not find in the region.

Room Tip: Ask for Waterfront with balcony and enjoy your sights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 407JanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeport, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is a somewhat cheaper place to stay in Oakland near the Estuary.
A pleasant and peaceful place with large open space common area and well maintained.

While not a "bargain", I prefer staying here than the next closest Best Western over by the Oakland Airport.

Free parking and shuttle service to Jack London Sq/public transportation hub. I was surprised parking was free, which is not common in the Bay Area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Estuary are worth it If you like sunsets, take the right hand side. Main floor su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
2.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#8 of 49 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Address: 1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel's stunning views and rooms overlooking Oakland's estuary. We are 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. Our rooms are spacious and beautifully arranged for a relaxing stay. The bathrooms are extravagantly designed with a glass enclosed shower separated from a soaking tub and private water closet. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator & in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing