We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take vegetarians from out of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Encuentro Cafe and Wine Bar

Encuentro Cafe and Wine Bar
Ranked #21 of 1,219 Restaurants in Oakland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to take vegetarians from out of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've been to Encuentro I think four times now and hands down it is one of the hidden gems of Oakland dining. Sweet little place tucked away in a cool part of Oakland (it's nice to take a stroll around Jack London Square water before dinner). The food has been consistently tasty, with surprising flavor / ingredient combinations and fantastic specials. The wine selection offers lots of chances for discovery, too. My only wish is that they would be open for lunch also but maybe that will happen down the line. Great place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
11 Thank C_from_Oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
251 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Welcoming and DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've been wanting to try Encuentro for a few weeks now and I decided to go on my own Sat night.
The host was welcoming and gave me my options for sitting at the bar or having take out.
I had a delicious Prosecco while waiting for my absolutely wonderfule choices.
I tried a starter ,a salad , and the portabello sandwich... OMG deicious I can't wait to go back. I hope it opens for lunch soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
12 Thank sansa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistent, delicious and Vegetarian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We eat here about 1-2 times a month. I'm always pleasantly surprised by options. It is pretty easy to get a fantastic vegan and gluten free meal with dessert. We loved the portobello burger, the lemon aid pie, the soccas (flat breads), the lentil dip/ appetizer and the drink selection. There is something for everyone here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank GladysErna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain view, California, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good to be a vegetarian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Perfect place to have a vegetarian meal with ingredients like kale, arugula, macademia nuts, figs, cheak peas, and avocado. It pleased my senses having stuffed dates with Redwood Hill Farms goat cheese or macadamia nut pate with walnut "honey". Tasty!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank einstyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Encuentro Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Encuentro Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing