We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pick on College (so far..)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marica

Marica
Ranked #31 of 1,226 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best pick on College (so far..)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

As out-of-towners with many choices for a few good eateries on the famous College Ave, we had the lucky draw of Marica. Fun, eclectic, and vibrant, Marica will wow you with their friendliness and delicious food. A hip, younger crowd and excellent lighting in their funky dining room are great combos for a super-fun date night. Their pours are generous and the sea bass was to die for. Absolutely incredible. My wife had the rock fish and it was all so good that we swapped plates half way through (I never do this). Truly a little gem of a place and very well-run.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bisonburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    28
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“We had a truly mediocre experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I am surprised by the reviews of Marica. Perhaps we got unlucky, but I will say that our food was mediocre, at best, and the service was inattentive and disinterested.

The starters were the highlights. The lobster bisque was good, and the mussels were tasty, although there were very few for the cost. Perhaps 9-10 mussels. The calamari starter was fair, and the Caesar salad OK. The mussels were brought several minutes after the other starters, without explanation. This would become a theme.

The main courses were unbelievably average. The lamb salad was the best of the four, althought the salad was mostly middle pieces of the lettuce head, rather than the leafy parts, which is not the way to serve a nice salad. The cannelloni was fine, if unremarkable. The salmon and rock cod, however, we're both tasteless. Each came with a pesto sauce on the side that was absolutely without flavor. Only the presence of some avocado on the side of the cod gave this fish any flavor at all. The cod and salmon, of course, came appreciably after the other main courses.

My wife had ordered a tasting menu, which included dessert. The dessert came much later, and the waitress plopped down her dessert with some amazingly tasteless, icy sorbet. The waiters never asked if anybody wanted to order dessert otherwise (having asked my wife her dessert preference when she ordered from the tasting menu.).

The waiters also took some plates before everyone everyone was done (a pet peeve), and removed our silverware after the appetizers without replacement. We ate with salad forks and no knives. No one asked if we wanted other or more drinks.

Then the bill came. It showed a different price for cash than credit, without explanation. We had a gift certificate, but they told us that was "credit" and we had to use the credit price although we were paying the difference in cash.

Overall, I am stunned that this restaurant gets such good reviews. Does good, tasty food matter? How about service? We had neither.

Helpful?
1 Thank jakklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Delicious but rushed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Excellent seafood - mussels appetizer was perfect and the Lobster was best I've ever had, Chopped Salad was heavenly, as was the chocolate souffle (heavier and more like a warm molten cake). The only thing was that we were rushed...the moment the fork hit the plate they came to take it away. Several times I had to let the wait staff know that I was not finished. Drinks and 3 course dinner was rushed and only took 1 hour. A surprising bargain - ll this, plus drinks and wine for two for ~$130.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johndhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We go to Marica every couple of months. They have great fish, usually three different kinds, plenty of other selections, and nice wines in large glasses. They are one of those places where if you can't decide what wine you want they'll give you tastes. Service is informal but very pleasant. I've never had anything that wasn't delicious. Two downsides: it is small and popular so it's loud, and you definitely need a reservation. Tonight I had the hot fudge sundae, and I don't remember having one as good since Blum's closed in Union Square back in the late 60s or early 70s. They give a discount for cash.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joehearst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Dined here late on Fathers Day with friends from Houston. Felt lucky to get a last minute reservation. Ordered our wine at the bar, but table came up shortly. The N.Z. sav. blanc was delicious. And reasonable. Most of us ordered the rack of lamb and loved it. This is a small place, so if there is a large group in the middle, expect the noise level to be high. Don't miss the chocolate souffle. Efficient, friendly service. A place you'll want to come back to.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarpenterBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing