We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SOI 4

SOI 4
Reserve with OpenTable
SOI 4 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 1,220 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The service was a little lacking but it is a fun, elegant yet casual place with great food. Try as many of the tapas that you can, especially the Thai spiced corn cakes and the oh-so-good shrimp and pork dumplings. All of it yummy. Be prepared to wait, though. And it wasn't really even that busy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bisonburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I enjoy the wide selection and the willingness of the staff to accommodate my needs for low salt.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank joehearst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, IL
Level Contributor
100 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Unusual but Delicious Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We recently returned from a trip to California where we went to SOI 4 with our daughter and some friends to SOI 4. While the atmosphere seemed a bit tight (they tried to get as many people seated in the upper balcony level as possible) the service was very friendly and efficient. We tried a few items here that I have never seen before (suggested by one of the friends) that were very tasty. The spiced corn cake and sautéed turnip cake appetizers were wonderful - with a blend of spices that had kick but not overwhelming - both were excellent. The Pad Thai with shrimp was very good, but I personally like Pad Thai better without seafood. The green beans and tofu in a red ginger sauce was also delicious! Overall a great meal with very courteous staff.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh flavors, quiet atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Met a long-time friend while in town for work. We had four different appetizers and each was perfect. The lettuce wraps with coconut were particularly delicious: small bites with many layers of fresh flavors. Be sure to try the turnip appetizer; never had anything quite like this. I believe that until 6pm appetizers and drinks are half-price. We sat upstairs and had plenty of quiet for a conversation. Coconut panna cotta with a touch of mango sauce was exquisite and simple for dessert. Service was soft and unobtrusive, but helpful when choosing dishes. Lovely evening.

Helpful?
Thank Tripnahalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, ambiance and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My parents came for a visit and they wanted good thai food. There were 6 of us and we went to Soi 4 after being recommended by friends. We did not have a reservation but the hostess was very friendly and helped us get a seat. But we only had 45 minutes as the reserved guests will arrive at that time. With a great waiter, our stay didn't feel rushed and we got exceptional service. The food was amazing and my parents enjoyed our time together at Soi 4. My father loves to eat out and is very opinionated about restaurants. So finding a good restaurant is extremely difficult. With Soi 4, he gave me the thumbs up.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank avrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SOI 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing