We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Tradition”
Review of Il Pescatore Ristorante - CLOSED

Il Pescatore Ristorante
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Long Beach, CA
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Business Tradition”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I eat here when clients request. The old railroad and port execs love this place...maybe it's a Godfather caprice. It's a bit hidden at Jack London Square...look for Jack's shack towards the south end and it will be right behind you on the water. I usually get seafood, but sandwiches and salads are also very good. They have been closed a couple of times when I've been by and there is no sign indicating daily hours. I know they are closed on Monday, but not sure of other days.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LGB-Local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    23
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oakland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One great dish”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place was an old style Italian seafood restaurant on the wharf 35 years ago when I first ate there. It was remodeled somewhat about 20 years ago, which was an improvement, but it is still an old style place. In the past I have eaten fish and pasta there, which was passably good, but I now go there about once every five years for the Veal Lambata - and I feel guilty for eating veal each time, but it is great. It is not on the menu, sometimes it is on the specials board, but even if not you can order it anyway, just tell the waiter. It is a veal porterhouse steak that is fairly thick and it is smothered in some type of rich sauce. I haven't been there for quite a few years, but I need to get another fix. If it weren't so unethical to eat veal, I would eat there quite often. You might want to call and make sure they have the veal lambata before going.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigsteve666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
2 reviews
“New owners”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

One of several we visit when in Bay Area. New owners since our last trip. Food not up to par by comparison of many previous visits. Prices have sky-rocketed! Service still good. Place a bit cleaner. A first timer would rate higher, a past steady visitor will find prices beyond value! Definitely room for improvement to attract old returnees and locals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dav4337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fish and pasta!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Ate here for our son's birthday. Food and service were excellent. The special was butterflied prawns and they were excellent. Tried a new wine from Francis Ford Coppola's vineyard Santos and I am going to look for it in the grocery store. Wait staff was very attentive. Clam chowder was quite good but I do not think it was made from scratch. I would eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

Location: beautiful views of the water. Food: suburb real world Italian with dishes not routinely seen. If I lived here I would be a regular.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pescatore Ristorante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing