We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My grandson's favorite place to eat”
Review of Little Shin Shin

Little Shin Shin
Ranked #246 of 1,265 Restaurants in Oakland
Restaurant details
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
465 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“My grandson's favorite place to eat”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This restaurant is one of my young grandson's favorite place to eat. The service is very fast and the food is good.The price is average. We always order much more than we can eat and my grandson end up taking it home for breakfast the next day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reise-tanta-di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    26
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great family style restaurant”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have had two wonderful family-style meals at Little Shin Shin--one last November, and one this past weekend. There is a wide variety of food, savory, spicy, and sweet. The service is good, and we have been able to linger over our meal without feeling rushed. A very nice find in the Piedmont area of Oakland!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HWM1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Yay, Little Shin Shin!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place has been a family favorite for years! I grew up 2 blocks away from here and my mom used to order us Chinese take-out from here all the time! my favorite was cashew chicken! Yummy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
279 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Granddaughter Birthday Celebration!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We've been here many times and have enjoyed our meals and this time was no exception. It was our granddaughter's request (her favorite restaurant) to dine here for her birthday and she has come to know many of the servers. Her favorite is the won ton soup and we ordered the largest serving for the 5 of us of which she consumed half. It's always good and combined with the fried won ton appetizers it's a great start. From there, we usually order a meat, fish, vegetable, and noodle dish (all selections are never disappointing) and share with all at the table. Their food is consistently good and the service is always friendly and timely. This restaurant is always on our itinerary when we visit our granddaughter and we will happily continue the tradition.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGoodTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not expensive or fancy, but GREAT food!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were recommended to try this restaurant by a neighbor who hadn't been there in a couple of years, but LOVED it when she lived nearby. They were a highly rated Chinese restaurant for 2012 & the overall menu sounded good, with plenty for everyone (we had a group of 7) to find something they would enjoy. The only down-side is finding a parking spot -- try the public lot that is a few blocks away or chance finding a spot on the street (parking is metered). We ordered a family meal and added the Walnut Prawns. All I can say is every dish was WONDERFUL - from the very good Hot & Sour Soup to the Duck. There was very little for leftovers to take home, but they were very good too. The staff was attentive and took care of us promptly. If you are in the area, I highly recommend you give Little Shin Shin a try. As an added bonus, they are located just doors away from Fenton's Ice Creamery!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Shin Shin also viewed

 

Been to Little Shin Shin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing