We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Place for Good Coffee”
Review of Mama's Royal Cafe

Mama's Royal Cafe
Ranked #148 of 1,265 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Georgia Coast, Georgia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Funky Place for Good Coffee”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stopped by this Oakland classic for coffee and scones. The coffee was up to Bay Area standards: rich and tasty. The scones were delicious. This is a neat neighborhood shop!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewAdventurer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
1,557 reviews
935 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Mama's... You're good!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We took the clan to Mama's for brunch and were not sorry one bit. Every item was prepared well. Service was funky and fun and attentive. Coffee was abundant. Options for sides, breads were many. The main choices satisfied all palettes form veggie to meats to eggs to othe options. Yummy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“quirky and GOOD”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I liked this place. I was there for breakfast with an out of town guest. Menu items are just a little bit unusual--just enough so that you know the staff are thinking about the food they prepare, which was high quality. Staff was friendly and helpful. I'd go back in a minute.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank beglisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Decent coffee and breakfasts”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We went for breakfast on a Sunday morning. We did not have to wait for a table. The place is not updated decor-wise, but seemed clean. I had the 2 eggs with fruit, toast and turkey sausage. The turkey sausage was quite good, and the rest of the meal was fine. The coffee was strong and good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgierocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Still the best after 15 years”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Mama's is a classic breakfast/brunch place -- lovely omlettes, great home fries, and endless cups of coffee. We have returned to this cafe, having last visited about 15 years ago, and were very pleased to find that it is still a fabulous place for breakfast -- blowing away the competition for size of helpings, quality of food, and atmosphere. Forget San Francisco -- come to Oakland for breakfast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 33PatriciaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Royal Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Royal Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing