We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great new oakland favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Cote

A Cote
Reserve with OpenTable
A Cote is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 1,221 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lawton
Transit: Rockridge Bart station 3 blocks north of the restaurant
Concord, California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“great new oakland favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant immensely and it has immediately become a new favorite. The ambiance is great with a very pretty outdoor garden patio in the back and some private booths. There are a number of cozy tables and several chef’s tables where everyone seems to mingle in great fashion. The menu consists of mostly Mediterranean small plates with French, Italian and Spanish influences. They, and a few larger plates, are served family style and are meant to be shared. The menu changes weekly but the pommes frites with aioli and mussels with Pernod are staples. All dishes, including asparagus and leek tart, pork ribs, and hazelnut crusted halibut were excellent. The warm rhubarb brown butter cake and coup a cote desserts were spectacular. There is a very creative cocktail list and an extensive wine list of mostly Mediterranean wine with about 40 wines by the glass. Some of the wine offerings are not typically seen. Service is top notch and our server, Jon, was very knowledgeable about the dishes and the ingredients. This restaurant is very popular and reservations are highly recommended. Dine early if you can.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dragonrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    41
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“they must get paid to clear the table!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food was delicious, but they were way to quick to clear dishes away whether were done or not. It took over 20 minutes to get wine to the table and they kept taking away plates with food on them. Maybe it was only two mussels or half a sausage, but with five of us, we wanted every bit of yummy food they served!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaLipsRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“The menu redeemed the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our family made a reservation to dine, only to be told we'd have to wait for a table. Ordinarily this is not a problem, but two of our party were elderly and they not only had trouble with the bar stool seating in the miniscule waiting area, but some of our party observed the hostess give away a suitable table just upon our arrival, so that added to our anxiety. We suspect that it might be difficult to please all comers to this popular eatery, and that they make challenging ad hoc decisions as folks come through the door. That said, they offered to make us comfortable with beverages to compensate for the wait, and the food made up for the early chaos. The seating is tight. The noise level is high. The lighting is low and therefore planning share plates is a bit tough. That said, the quality of the food is very high. We ordered 5 share plates for 5 diners, and one extra entree (since one of us wanted the halibut - certainly not the type of dish to share). We could have easily been satisfied with 4 dishes for 5 reasonably hungry folks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank passportwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

One of my favorite restaurants in the Bay Area. Been there many times, last Fri visit.
On down side, reservation system not working, waited too long even with reservation but it was so worth, like every other time.
Great window table and great atmosphere with fig martini to start perfect meal.
Had fresh mussels and salad. Cheese plate, all exceptional.
As ex restaurant Manager and owner I can recommend this establishment for great food and atmosphere to anybody, especially for date night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dimitrifromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Creative and enticing menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for dinner on a warm spring evening. Sitting outside on the patio, which has a bohemian feel to it, we were treated to a wonderful meal for 4. Pomme frites, mussels, brocolinii pizza, all were top quality. Also an excellent fairly priced wine list made this a great visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Cote also viewed

 

Been to A Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing