We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Mezze style food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Cote

A Cote
5478 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618-1552
510-655-6469
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A Cote is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 1,215 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lawton
Transit: Rockridge Bart station 3 blocks north of the restaurant
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Mezze style food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The service was exceptional, very, very accommodating (10 of us tunred up without a booking!). The menu is quite technical so the staff helped giude us through to some very good eating. The wine menu was eaqually as interesting Lebanese , Croation wines etc. Again staff helped with delicious results. Being so technical it can be quite intimidaing, but if you're OK about "I don't know what all this means!" you'll really enjoy the place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ARyding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    41
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Eclectic delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

This one is worth tracking down. Every menu item is meant tobe shared, so your palate will never get bored. Our party of six had sardine crostini, marinated olives, artichokes, steak, lamb, pasta carbonara, and more. Each dish was large enough to share and delicious. The service was impeccable. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Homebody44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Good Choice in Rockridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have been to A Cote four times either with friends or with my partner and have had pleasant experiences each time.

As a vegetarian who is allergic to mushrooms, I always find a few things on the menu that I CAN eat and that I WANT to eat. Wish there was more variety in that area though--depends on the season. Last night I had the spring onion and green garlic soup which was delicately flavored and the fromage blanc crouton was a nice touch. We also shared their pommes frites, which are very salty and tasty and come with a lemon mayo concoction and a romaine salad with creamy garlic dressing, asparagus, and sieved egg. My partner had mussels and since she can't eat dairy, they made them without dairy and she loved them. Since she eats just about anything, she feels there is a great variety on the menu.

The drinks are good--interesting combinations. The atmosphere is nice--i like the tables in the little nooks.

Service is always very good-almost impeccable. Wait staff eager to answer questions and help lead you in the right direction whether it's to help you decide on a drink or meals.

I think this place is best to go with a few people or with someone who eats what you eat so that items can be shared.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank hereishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent intimate dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My husband and I had an unexpected and very welcome warm reception here after 9PM on a Sunday night. We needed something to eat before a 45 minute drive home and stopped by A Cote to see if they might still be serving dinner. Were pleasantly surprised to have the hostess say, "Absolutely, we serve until 10". We were seated at a table for 4 in a little niche by the wall. The food was superb. I had grilled asparagus with blood orange and Meyer lemon relish, yum, Croque Monsieur and pommes frites. Perfect for a late night meal. Hubby had a salad that he declared sublime and a skirt steak on a crouton, which he said was like nothing he had ever eaten. It was garnished with Hen-of-the-woods mushrooms, which he had not tasted previously. He is not crazy about mushrooms, but he loved these. I had been to A Cote two years ago and had the mussels, which were wonderful.
The atmosphere here feels like you are in a tiny Parisian bistro. It is dark and intimate and the music is very retro. We will definitely return when we are in Oakland/Rockridge.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank plaidbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was a last minute thing on Saturday night...St. Patricks Day, with no reservations. We arrived relatively early hoping to get on a waiting list and get seated and we were not disappointed. The four of us had a cozy table. Very good service...very interesting menu. I didn't recognize any favorites from the wine list but waitress steered us in the right direction with a Tuscan "Pinot Noir" type wine. Smaller plates served family style so we could all enjoy each plate. Nice offerings which we were told change every six weeks.

Place was full...food was good. Maybe economy is getting better!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FABOregonUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Cote also viewed

 

Been to A Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing