We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Probably should NOT tell you about Barney's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers

Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers
Ranked #65 of 1,217 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Concord
Level Contributor
281 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Probably should NOT tell you about Barney's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have never counted, but Barney's has more than 50 hamburger, cheeseburger, turkey burger, veggieburger, chicken burger, younameitburger choices. The burgers are delicious. I have tried at least 10 different choices. The turkey burger is delicious.

And, the fries, especially the curly fries, are very tasty. Oh, by the way, the servings are more than adequate.

Finally, Barney's serves milk shakes IN the silver goblet.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saolsen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Salads!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Barney's is known for it's burgers, but I go for the salads. They serve huge salads with fresh ingredients, and are very flexible about substitutions and additions. Every salad I've ever had there is impeccably fresh and well-balanced. The house vinaigrette is quite good. Friends are happy to meet me there and enjoy both the burgers and the available substitutes (you can choose chicken, veggie patty, or turkey burger.) For me, though, the salad is king.

Seating is pleasant and clean. The kitchen is in full view, which I always find reassuring. Meals are very consistent from one visit to the next. They've gone to giving guests a large bottle of still water when they arrive, with glasses, which is a nice touch.

Downsides: the service is sometimes uneven. I haven't been able to see a pattern in it, but some days everything is slow. On a good day, the service is wonderful. I'm rating it "average" for service but that's splitting the difference. For that reason, it isn't a place I'd recommend for a "quick bite." However, it is a great place to get a healthy meal.

Extra points for being near the Rockridge BART station in a fun neighborhood for walking.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Above-average Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My office is a block away from Barney's, so I have lunch here about once a month. The atmosphere at this location is much better than the Barney's on Piedmont Avenue. They have plenty of seating, both indoors and outside, either in the front of the restaurant, or in their back patio area. But Barney's is much more than atmosphere.

The burgers here are above average, and sometimes spectacular. Their menu is full of great options, including the some of the best Specialty burgers around. My personal favorite is the Alpine burger, with Swiss cheese and sauteed onions & mushrooms. Another great one is the I always order my burgers medium rare. A close second is the Guacamole burger, loaded with fresh "guac", jack cheese and sour cream. Oh and I can't forget the Chipotle, with its spicy sauce and jack cheese. I could go on and on, but you get the picture.

Barney's is also well known for their spicy curly fries. A full basket is HUGE. So if you are on your own, get the small size. The homemade ranch dipping sauce is awesome. If you are tempted to try the garlic fries, don't. They are a bit dry, and aftertaste from the garlic will last for days. If you're into lighter fare, Barney's has a full menu of salads and other items as well. They also do milkshakes, but you might want to pass on those as well. Why? Because the landmark Dreyer's Grand Ice Cream parlor (less than a block away) is the ideal place for dessert.

Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers is located on College Avenue in Oakland's Rockridge Shopping district. The restaurant is a couple of blocks from the Rockridge BART station, and easily accessible from highway 24.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jvptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
344 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Barney's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great sports bar that has beautiful burgers. I highly suggest you check it out.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kappy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We went for lunch and got there just before the crowd. When we left people were waiting on the street. Lots of different choices for additions to the burger! I can see how some people might be disappointed with the burger. They are not thick (but the bun is pretty large so quantity was not an issue); much of the flavor comes from the rest of the ingredients which we found to be quite fresh and flavorful. We also tried the falafel (small patties) - very crispy and quite good. The spicy curly fries and the sweet potato fries were excellent.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barney's Gourmet Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing